The Skanda Purana

by G. V. Tagare | 1950 | 2,545,880 words

This page describes Greatness of Amareshvara Kunda which is chapter 146 of the English translation of the Skanda Purana, the largest of the eighteen Mahapuranas, preserving the ancient Indian society and Hindu traditions in an encyclopedic format, detailling on topics such as dharma (virtous lifestyle), cosmogony (creation of the universe), mythology (itihasa), genealogy (vamsha) etc. This is the one hundred forty-sixth chapter of the Tirtha-mahatmya of the Nagara-khanda of the Skanda Purana.

Chapter 146 - Greatness of Amareśvara Kuṇḍa

[Sanskrit text for this chapter is available]

[Full title: Greatness of Amareśvara (Amara-īśvara) Kuṇḍa]

Note: This chapter enumerates (by names) the thirty-three Devas protecting the Kuṇḍa and mentions the days on which these should be propitiated.

The sages said:

1-3. O highly intelligent one, enumerate separately the names of all the Ādityas, Vasus, Rudras and Aśvins.

Sūta said:

The eleven Rudras are: Vṛṣadhvaja, Śarva, Mṛgavyādha (the third), Ajaikapāt, Ahirbudhnya, Pinākin (the sixth), Dahana, Īśvara, Kapālin (the ninth), Vṛṣākapi (the tenth) and Tryaṃbaka.

4. The following are glorified as the eight Vasus: Dhura, Dhruva, Soma, Makha, Anila, Anala, Pratyūṣa and Prabhāsa.

5-6. The following twelve are Bhāskaras (Ādityas): Varuṇa Sūrya, Bhānu, Tāpana, Indra, Aryaman. Dhātṛ, Bhaga, Gabhasti, Dharmarāja, Svarṇaretas, Divākara, Mitra and Vāsudeva.

7. Nāsatya and Dasra are the well known Aśvins. They are the highly esteemed physicians of Devas. They were born of the daughter of Tvaṣṭṛ.

8. These leaders of Suras are the thirty-three well-known ones settled in the holy spot for the purpose of destroying the Dānavas.

9. A man with well-controlled sense-organs who devoutly worships them on the said day will not meet with premature death.

10. The Rudras should be worshipped on the eighth and foruteenth lunar days by knowers who desire the greatest position. They shall perform special adorations in that holy spot.

11. Vasus should be worshipped on the eighth lunar day in particular and on the tenth lunar day by those who desire Svarga along with different kinds of graceful charms.

12. Ādityas should be worshipped on the sixth and seventh lunar days by men who desire strength (to be) devoid of enemies.

13. The physicians of Devas should be worshipped on the twelfth lunar day by those men who desire the destruction of ailments. They become rid of their ailments.

Help me keep this site Ad-Free

For over a decade, this site has never bothered you with ads. I want to keep it that way. But I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased truth, wisdom and knowledge.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: