Tattvartha Sutra (with commentary)

by Vijay K. Jain | 2018 | 130,587 words | ISBN-10: 8193272625 | ISBN-13: 9788193272626

This page describes the two lords (indra) which is verse 4.6 of the English translation of the Tattvartha Sutra which represents the essentials of Jainism and Jain dharma and deals with the basics on Karma, Cosmology, Ethics, Celestial beings and Liberation. The Tattvarthasutra is authorative among both Digambara and Shvetambara. This is verse 6 of the chapter The Celestial Beings and includes an extensive commentary.

Verse 4.6 - The two lords (indra)

Sanskrit text, Unicode transliteration and English translation of Tattvartha sūtra 4.6:

पूर्वयोर्दीन्द्राः ॥ ४.६ ॥

pūrvayordīndrāḥ || 4.6 ||

In the first two classes, there are two lords (indra). (6)

Hindi Anvayarth:

अन्वयार्थ: भवनवासी और व्यन्तरों में प्रत्येक भेद में दो-दो इन्द्र होते हैं।

Anvayartha: bhavanavasi aura vyantarom mem pratyeka bheda mem do-do indra hote haim |

Explanation in English from Ācārya Pūjyapāda’s Sarvārthasiddhi:

Now in the four classes, is there one lord (indra) in each class or is there any difference?

The first two classes mean the residential (bhavanavāsī) and the peripatetic (vyantara) deva. It is as follows. First, with regard to the residential (bhavanavāsī) deva. Camara and Vairocana are the two lords (indra) of Asurakumāra. Dharaṇa and Bhūtānanda are the two lords (indra) of Nāgakumara. Harisiṃha and Harikānta are the two lords (indra) of Vidyutkumāra. Veṇudeva and Veṇudhārī are the two lords (indra) of Suparṇakumāra. Agniśikha and Agnimāṇava are the two lords (indra) of Agnikumāra. Vailamba and Prabhaṃjana are the two lords (indra) of Vātakumāra. Sughoṣa and Mahāghoṣa are the two lords (indra) of Stanitakumāra. Jalakānta and Jalaprabha are the two lords (indra) of Udadhikumāra. Pūrṇa and Viśiṣṭa are the two lords (indra) of Dvīpakumāra. Amitagati and Amitavāhana are the two lords (indra) of Dikkumāra.

Among the peripatetic (vyantara) deva, Kinnara and Kimpuruṣa are the two lords (indra) of Kinnara, Satpuruṣa and Mahāpuruṣa of Kimpuruṣa, Atikāya and Mahākāya of Mahoraga, Gītarati and Gītayaśa of Gandharva, Pūrṇabhadra and Maṇibhadra of Yakṣa, Bhīma and Mahābhīma of Rākṣasa, Pratirūpa and Apratirūpa of Bhūta, and Kāla and Mahākāla of Piśāca.

Help me keep this site Ad-Free

For over a decade, this site has never bothered you with ads. I want to keep it that way. But I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased truth, wisdom and knowledge.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: