Yoga-sutra with Bhasya [sanskrit]

9,932 words

Summary: The Sanskrit edition of the Patañjali: Yogasūtra with Bhāṣya (= Pātañjalayogaśāstra). Based on the edition by Kāśinātha Śāstrī Āgāśe. The Yoga Sutras of Patañjali is a collection of Sanskrit aphorisms (Sūtras) on the theory and practice of Yoga. It includes the theory of ashtanga (eight elements of practice culminating in samadhi)—Yama (abstinences), Niyama (observances), Āsana (yoga posture), Prāṇāyāma (breath control), Pratyāhāra (withdrawal of the senses), Dhāraṇā (concentration of the mind), Dhyāna (meditation) and Samādhi (absorption).


Contents of this online book ( + / - )

The full text of the Yoga-sutra with Bhasya [sanskrit] is available here and publically accesible (free to read online). Of course, I would always recommend buying the book so you get the latest edition. You can see all this book’s content by visiting the pages in the below index:


Comment functionality currently not enabled
Help me keep this site Ad-Free

For over a decade, this site has never bothered you with ads. I want to keep it that way. But I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased truth, wisdom and knowledge.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: