Saptadvipa, aka: Sapta-dvipa, Saptadvīpa, Saptadvīpā, Saptan-dvipa; 7 Definition(s)


Saptadvipa means something in Hinduism, Sanskrit, Marathi. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Hinduism

Shaivism (Shaiva philosophy)

Saptadvipa in Shaivism glossary... « previous · [S] · next »

Saptadvīpa (सप्तद्वीप) refers to the seven continents situated within the world of the earth (pṛthivī), according to Parākhyatantra 5.61. These continents are located above the seven pātālas.

These are the seven continents (dvīpa) collectively known as saptadvīpa:

  1. Jambū-dvīpa,
  2. Śāka-dvīpa,
  3. Kuśa-dvīpa,
  4. Krauñca-dvīpa,
  5. Śālma-dvīpa,
  6. Gomeda-dvīpa,
  7. Puṣkara-dvīpa.

Each continent may contain even more sub-continents within them, are round in shape, and are encircled within seven concentric oceans.

The Parākhyatantra is an old Śaiva-siddhānta tantra dating from before the 10th century.

Source: Wisdom Library: Śaivism
Shaivism book cover
context information

Shaiva (शैव, śaiva) or Shaivism (śaivism) represents a tradition of Hinduism worshiping Shiva as the supreme being. Closely related to Shaktism, Shaiva literature includes a range of scriptures, including Tantras, while the root of this tradition may be traced back to the ancient Vedas.

Discover the meaning of saptadvipa in the context of Shaivism from relevant books on Exotic India

Purana and Itihasa (epic history)

Saptadvipa in Purana glossary... « previous · [S] · next »

Saptadvīpa (सप्तद्वीप).—In purāṇic cosmology, there are “seven islands (dvīpa)” ruled over by seven sons of Priyavrata (son of Svāyambhuva Manu), according to the Varāhapurāṇa chapter 74. Svāyambhuva Manu was created by Brahmā, who was in turn created by Nārāyaṇa (the unknowable all-pervasive primordial being).

The names of the seven dvīpas and their respective rulers are:

  1. Jambūdvīpa, ruled over by Āgnīdhra,
  2. Śākadvīpa, ruled over by Medhātithi,
  3. Krauñcadvīpa, ruled over by Jyotiṣmān,
  4. Śālmalidvīpa, ruled over by Dyutimān,
  5. Gomedadvīpa, ruled over by Havya,
  6. Plakṣadvīpa, ruled over by Vapuṣmān,
  7. Puṣkaradvīpa, ruled over by Savana.
Source: Wisdom Library: Varāha-purāṇa

Saptadvīpa (सप्तद्वीप).—The seven islands of the earth.*

  • * Vāyu-purāṇa 33. 4; 34. 7; 70. 18; 93. 89; 94. 14. 99. 17-133; 102. 28; 110. 22.
Source: Cologne Digital Sanskrit Dictionaries: The Purana Index
Purana book cover
context information

The Purana (पुराण, purāṇas) refers to Sanskrit literature preserving ancient India’s vast cultural history, including historical legends, religious ceremonies, various arts and sciences. The eighteen mahapuranas total over 400,000 shlokas (metrical couplets) and date to at least several centuries BCE.

Discover the meaning of saptadvipa in the context of Purana from relevant books on Exotic India

General definition (in Hinduism)

Saptadvipa in Hinduism glossary... « previous · [S] · next »

Saptadvīpa (सप्तद्वीप):—According to Puranic cosmography, the entire Cosmos is divided into seven concentric island continents (sapta-dvipa vasumati) separated by the seven encircling oceans, each double the size of the preceding one (going out from within). The seven continents of the Puranas are stated as

  1. Jambudvipa,
  2. Plaksadvipa,
  3. Salmalidvipa,
  4. Kusadvipa,
  5. Krouncadvipa,
  6. Sakadvipa,
  7. and Pushkaradvipa.

Seven intermediate oceans consist of salt-water, sugarcane juice, wine, ghee, curd, milk and water respectively.

Source: Wisdom Library: Hinduism

Languages of India and abroad

Marathi-English dictionary

Saptadvipa in Marathi glossary... « previous · [S] · next »

saptadvīpa (सप्तद्वीप).—m pl (S) The seven dvīpa or great divisions of the earth; viz. jambu, kuśa, plakṣa, śālmalī, krauñca, śāka, puṣkara.

Source: DDSA: The Molesworth Marathi and English Dictionary
context information

Marathi is an Indo-European language having over 70 million native speakers people in (predominantly) Maharashtra India. Marathi, like many other Indo-Aryan languages, evolved from early forms of Prakrit, which itself is a subset of Sanskrit, one of the most ancient languages of the world.

Discover the meaning of saptadvipa in the context of Marathi from relevant books on Exotic India

Sanskrit-English dictionary

Saptadvipa in Sanskrit glossary... « previous · [S] · next »

Saptadvīpā (सप्तद्वीपा).—an epithet of the earth; पुरा सप्तद्वीपां जयति वसुधामप्रतिरथः (purā saptadvīpāṃ jayati vasudhāmapratirathaḥ) Ś.7.33.

Saptadvīpā is a Sanskrit compound consisting of the terms saptan and dvīpā (द्वीपा).

Source: DDSA: The practical Sanskrit-English dictionary

Saptadvīpā (सप्तद्वीपा).—

(-pā) An epithet of the earth.

Source: Cologne Digital Sanskrit Dictionaries: Shabda-Sagara Sanskrit-English Dictionary
context information

Sanskrit, also spelled संस्कृतम् (saṃskṛtam), is an ancient language of India commonly seen as the grandmother of the Indo-European language family. Closely allied with Prakrit and Pali, Sanskrit is more exhaustive in both grammar and terms and has the most extensive collection of literature in the world, greatly surpassing its sister-languages Greek and Latin.

Discover the meaning of saptadvipa in the context of Sanskrit from relevant books on Exotic India

Relevant definitions

Search found 612 related definition(s) that might help you understand this better. Below you will find the 15 most relevant articles:

Jambu-dvīpa or Jambū-dvīpa.—(CII 1), used in the sense of ‘the earth’ or the dominions of the M...
Dvipa (द्विप).—m. (-paḥ) 1. An elephant. 2. A plant, (Mesua ferrea.) E. dvi two, and pa who dri...
Puṣkaradvīpa (पुष्करद्वीप) is the name a locality mentioned in Rājaśekhara’s 10th-century Kāvya...
Saptaparṇa (सप्तपर्ण).—mfn. (-rṇaḥ-rṇī-rṇaṃ) Seven-leaved. m. (-rṇaḥ) A tree, (Alstonia scholar...
Śākadvīpa (शाकद्वीप).—One of the Saptadvīpas (seven islands). Sañjaya once gave Dhṛtarāṣṭra a d...
Nāgadvīpa (नागद्वीप).—A region inside the island Sudarśana. This region has the shape of the ea...
Saptadhātu (सप्तधातु).—m. (-tuḥ) The seven parts of the body, or chyle, blood, flesh, adeps, ma...
Saptaratna (सप्तरत्न) refers to the seven jewels of a Cakravartin, as mentioned in the Kathāsar...
Plakṣadvīpa (प्लक्षद्वीप).—One of the seven dvīpas (islands). (See under Saptadvīpa.)
Śvetadvipa (श्वेतद्विप).—m. (-paḥ) 1. A White elephant. 2. Indra'S elephant. E. śveta white, an...
Saptāṅga (सप्ताङ्ग).—mfn. (-ṅgaḥ-ṅgī-ṅgaṃ) Having seven members or parts. E. sapta, aṅga a part...
Śālmalidvīpa (शाल्मलिद्वीप).—One of the seven islands. General. Śālmali island, which is double...
Krauñcadvīpa (क्रौञ्चद्वीप).—(ISLAND OF KRAUÑCA). One of the Saptadvīpas (seven islands). The s...
Kuśadvīpa (कुशद्वीप).—One of the seven islands. Kuśa island is rich in pearls. (Bhīṣma Parva, C...
Suvarṇadvīpa (सुवर्णद्वीप) is one of the two Upamelāpaka (‘sacred spot’) present within the Kāy...

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: