Krauncadvipa, aka: Kraunca-dvipa, Krauñcadvīpa; 5 Definition(s)


Krauncadvipa means something in Hinduism, Sanskrit. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

Alternative spellings of this word include Kraunchadvipa.

In Hinduism

Purana and Itihasa (epic history)

Krauncadvipa in Purana glossary... « previous · [K] · next »

Krauñcadvīpa (क्रौञ्चद्वीप) is one of the seven islands (dvīpa), ruled over by Jyotiṣmān, one of the ten sons of Priyavrata, according to the Varāhapurāṇa chapter 74. Priyavrata was a son of Svāyambhuva Manu, who was created by Brahmā, who was in turn created by Nārāyaṇa, the unknowable all-pervasive primordial being.

These are the seven major mountains in Krauñcadvīpa:

  1. Vidyullata (or, Raivata),
  2. Mānasa (or, Pāvaka),
  3. Andhakāra (or, Acchodaka),
  4. Devāvṛta (or, Surāpa),
  5. Deviṣṭha (or, Kāñcanaśṛṅga),
  6. Govinda (or, Dvivinda),
  7. Puṇḍarīka (or, Toyāsaha).

These are the seven regions situated in Krauñcadvīpa:

  1. Kuśala (or, Mādhava),
  2. Vāmaka (or, Saṃvartaka),
  3. Uṣṇavān (or, Saprakāśa),
  4. Pāvaka (or, Sudarśana),
  5. Adhakāra (or, Sammoha),
  6. Munideśa (or, Prakāśa),
  7. Dundubhi (or, Anartha).

These are the seven major rivers situated in Krauñcadvīpa:

  1. Gauri (or, Puṣpavahā),
  2. Kumudvatī (Ārdravatī),
  3. Sandhyā (or Raudrā),
  4. Rātrī (or, Sukhāvahā),
  5. Manojavā (or, Bhogajavā),
  6. Khyāti (or, Kṣiprodā),
  7. Puṇḍarīka (or, Bahulā).

The Varāhapurāṇa is categorised as a Mahāpurāṇa, and was originally composed of 24,000 metrical verses, possibly originating from before the 10th century. It is composed of two parts and Sūta is the main narrator.

Source: Wisdom Library: Varāha-purāṇa

Krauñcadvīpa (क्रौञ्चद्वीप).—(ISLAND OF KRAUÑCA). One of the Saptadvīpas (seven islands). The seven islands are Jambūdvīpa, Plakṣadvīpa, Śālmalīdvīpa, Kuśadvīpa, Krauñcadvīpa, Śākadvīpa and Puṣkaradvīpa. (Devī Bhāgavata Skandha 8). Krauñcadvīpa is described as follows in Mahābhārata, Bhīṣma Parva, Chapter 12:—In this island there are the mountains Krauñca, Vāmanaka, Andhakāra, Maināka, Govinda, Nibiḍa, and Viṣkambha. The various countries in this island are Kuśala, Manonuga, Uṣṇa, Prāvaraka, Andhakāraka, Munideśa, Dundubhisvana etc.

Source: Puranic Encyclopaedia
Purana book cover
context information

The Purana (पुराण, purāṇas) refers to Sanskrit literature preserving ancient India’s vast cultural history, including historical legends, religious ceremonies, various arts and sciences. The eighteen mahapuranas total over 400,000 shlokas (metrical couplets) and date to at least several centuries BCE.

Discover the meaning of krauncadvipa in the context of Purana from relevant books on Exotic India

Katha (narrative stories)

Krauncadvipa in Katha glossary... « previous · [K] · next »

Krauñcadvīpa (क्रौञ्चद्वीप).—One of the seven continents (dvīpa) of Bhūrloka (earth).—In the Krauñcadvīpa, there is Krauñca mountain. The Krauñcadvīpa is encircled by an ocean (samudra) of curd.

Source: Shodhganga: A critical appreciation of soddhalas udayasundarikatha
Katha book cover
context information

Katha (कथा, kathā) refers to narrative Sanskrit literature often inspired from epic legendry (itihasa) and poetry (mahākāvya). Some Kathas reflect socio-political instructions for the King while others remind the reader of important historical event and exploits of the Gods, Heroes and Sages.

Discover the meaning of krauncadvipa in the context of Katha from relevant books on Exotic India

Shaivism (Shaiva philosophy)

Krauncadvipa in Shaivism glossary... « previous · [K] · next »

Krauñcadvīpa (क्रौञ्चद्वीप) refers to one of the seven continents (saptadvīpa) situated within the world of the earth (pṛthivī), according to Parākhyatantra 5.61. It is also known as plainly Krauñca. These continents are located above the seven pātālas and may contain even more sub-continents within them, are round in shape, and are encircled within seven concentric oceans.

According to the Parākhya-tantra, “beyond that is the continent Krauñca, where Kārttikeya threw his spear of great power and slew the great demon Krauñca. Beyond that is the ocean of clarified butter, where the creator, in a sacrifice (kratu), placed a great deal of clarified butter to give pleasure to the gods; that is why it is known as the ocean of clarified butter”.

The Parākhyatantra is an old Śaiva-siddhānta tantra dating from before the 10th century.

Source: Wisdom Library: Śaivism
Shaivism book cover
context information

Shaiva (शैव, śaiva) or Shaivism (śaivism) represents a tradition of Hinduism worshiping Shiva as the supreme being. Closely related to Shaktism, Shaiva literature includes a range of scriptures, including Tantras, while the root of this tradition may be traced back to the ancient Vedas.

Discover the meaning of krauncadvipa in the context of Shaivism from relevant books on Exotic India

Kavya (poetry)

Krauncadvipa in Kavya glossary... « previous · [K] · next »

Krauñcadvīpa (क्रौञ्चद्वीप) is the name a locality mentioned in Rājaśekhara’s 10th-century Kāvyamīmāṃsā.—It is one of the seven Dvīpas of the world. This is said to be encircled by the Dadhi Ocean.

Source: Shodhganga: The Kavyamimamsa of Rajasekhara
context information

Kavya (काव्य, kavya) refers to Sanskrit poetry, a popular ancient Indian tradition of literature. There have been many Sanskrit poets over the ages, hailing from ancient India and beyond. This topic includes mahakavya, or ‘epic poetry’ and natya, or ‘dramatic poetry’.

Discover the meaning of krauncadvipa in the context of Kavya from relevant books on Exotic India

Relevant definitions

Search found 514 related definition(s) that might help you understand this better. Below you will find the 15 most relevant articles:

Jambu-dvīpa or Jambū-dvīpa.—(CII 1), used in the sense of ‘the earth’ or the dominions of the M...
Krauñca (क्रौञ्च) is another name for Kruṣṭa: a type of tone which is used in chanting hyms.—An...
Dvipa (द्विप).—m. (-paḥ) 1. An elephant. 2. A plant, (Mesua ferrea.) E. dvi two, and pa who dri...
Puṣkaradvīpa (पुष्करद्वीप) is the name a locality mentioned in Rājaśekhara’s 10th-century Kāvya...
Saptadvīpā (सप्तद्वीपा).—(-pā) An epithet of the earth.
Śākadvīpa (शाकद्वीप).—One of the Saptadvīpas (seven islands). Sañjaya once gave Dhṛtarāṣṭra a d...
Nāgadvīpa (नागद्वीप).—A region inside the island Sudarśana. This region has the shape of the ea...
Śvetadvipa (श्वेतद्विप).—m. (-paḥ) 1. A White elephant. 2. Indra'S elephant. E. śveta white, an...
Plakṣadvīpa (प्लक्षद्वीप).—One of the seven dvīpas (islands). (See under Saptadvīpa.)
Śālmalidvīpa (शाल्मलिद्वीप).—One of the seven islands. General. Śālmali island, which is double...
Kuśadvīpa (कुशद्वीप).—One of the seven islands. Kuśa island is rich in pearls. (Bhīṣma Parva, C...
Suvarṇadvīpa (सुवर्णद्वीप) is one of the two Upamelāpaka (‘sacred spot’) present within the Kāy...
Maṇidvīpa (मणिद्वीप).—m. (-paḥ) 1. The crest or hood of the great serpent Ananta. 2. Name of an...
Sindhudvīpa (सिन्धुद्वीप).—A King of the Solar dynasty. (Mahābhārata, Anuśāsana Parva, Chapter ...
Nandīśvaradvīpa (नन्दीश्वरद्वीप).—According to both Digambaras and Śvetāmbaras, Nandīśvara Dvīp...

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: