Shrimad Bhagavad-gita

by Narayana Gosvami | 2013 | 327,105 words

The Bhagavad-gita Verse 10.6, English translation, including the Vaishnava commentaries Sarartha-varsini-tika, Prakashika-vritti and Rasika-ranjana (excerpts). This is verse Verse 10.6 from the chapter 10 called “Vibhuti-yoga (appreciating the opulences of the Supreme Lord)”

Sanskrit text, Unicode transliteration, Word-for-word and English translation of verse 10.6:

महर्षयः सप्त पूर्वे चत्वारो मनवस् तथा ।
मद्-भावा मानसा जाता येषां लोक इमाः प्रजाः ॥ ६ ॥

maharṣayaḥ sapta pūrve catvāro manavas tathā |
mad-bhāvā mānasā jātā yeṣāṃ loka imāḥ prajāḥ
|| 6 ||

mahā-ṛṣayaḥ–great sages; sapta–the seven; pūrve–before; catvāraḥ–the four Kumāras headed by Sanaka; manavaḥ–the Manus headed by Svāyambhuva Manu; tathā–and; mat-bhāvāḥ–are born from Me; mānasāḥ–from My mind; jātāḥ–born; yeṣām–from whom (come); loke–within this world; imāḥ–these brāhmaṇas, etc.; prajāḥ–sons and grandsons and so forth.

The seven maharṣis such as Marīci, before them, the four brahmarṣis such as Sanaka, and the fourteen Manus such as Svāyambhuva are all born from My form of Hiraṇyagarbha (Viṣṇu) through My mind. This human race has been populated by brāhmaṇas and others who became their progeny or disciples, and by the disciples of their disciples.

Commentary: Sārārtha-Varṣiṇī Ṭīkā

(By Śrīla Viśvanātha Cakravartī Ṭhākura; the innermost intention of the commentary named ‘the shower of essential meanings’)

After explaining that those with attributes such as intelligence, knowledge and freedom from anxiety are incapable of comprehending knowledge of His tattva, Śrī Bhagavān again explains their deficiencies. In other words, these qualities come from Kṛṣṇa alone. Kṛṣṇa is speaking this verse beginning with maharṣayaḥ. “The seven maharṣis such as Marīci and before them, the four Kumāras and the fourteen Manus such as Svāyambhuva are all born from Me, that is, from My form of Hiraṇyagarbha. They are born from My mind and so forth. The Earth is populated with brāhmaṇas and kṣatriyas, who are the sons, grandsons, disciples and grand-disciples of Marīci, Sanaka and so on.”

Commentary: Sārārtha-Varṣiṇī Prakāśikā-vṛtti

(By Śrīla Bhaktivedānta Nārāyaṇa Gosvāmī Mahārāja; the explanation that illuminates the commentary named Sārārtha-varṣiṇī)

Here, Śrī Bhagavān is giving the genealogical synopsis of the universe, which is born from Him. Brahmā, who was born from the energy of Mahā-Viṣṇu known as Hiraṇyagarbha, was the first living entity in this universe. The four Kumāras–Sanaka, Sananda, Sanātana and Sanat-kumāra–were the first to come from Brahmā. Then came the seven sages–Bhṛgu, Marīci, Atri, Pulastya, Pulaha, Kratu and Vasiṣṭha–and after them the fourteen Manus–(1) Svāyambhuva, (2) Svārociṣa, (3) Uttama, (4) Tāmasa, (5) Raivata, (6) Cākṣuṣa, (7) Vaivasvata, (8) Sāvarṇi, (9) Dakṣasāvarṇi, (10) Brahmasāvarṇi, (11) Dharmasāvarṇi, (12) Rudra-putra (Sāvarṇi), (13) Rocya (Devasāvarṇi) and (14) Bhautyaka (Indrasāvarṇi). They were all born from Hiraṇyagarbha, who is endowed with Kṛṣṇa’s energy. Their progeny, a chain of disciples and grand-disciples such as brāhmaṇas, populated the entire world.

Help me keep this site Ad-Free

For over a decade, this site has never bothered you with ads. I want to keep it that way. But I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased truth, wisdom and knowledge.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: