Matsarya, aka: Mātsarya; 7 Definition(s)


Matsarya means something in Buddhism, Pali, Hinduism, Sanskrit, Jainism, Prakrit, Marathi. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Hinduism


Mātsarya (मात्सर्य) refers to “envy” and represents a type of Ādhyātmika pain of the mental (mānasa) type, according to the Viṣṇu-purāṇa 6.5.1-6. Accordingly, “the wise man having investigated the three kinds of worldly pain, or mental and bodily affliction and the like, and having acquired true wisdom, and detachment from human objects, obtains final dissolution.”

Ādhyātmika and its subdivisions (eg., mātsarya) represents one of the three types of worldly pain (the other two being ādhibhautika and ādhidaivika) and correspond to three kinds of affliction described in the Sāṃkhyakārikā.

The Viṣṇupurāṇa is one of the eighteen Mahāpurāṇas which, according to tradition was composed of over 23,000 metrical verses dating from at least the 1st-millennium BCE. There are six chapters (aṃśas) containing typical puranic literature but the contents primarily revolve around Viṣṇu and his avatars.

(Source): Wisdom Library: Viṣṇu-purāṇa
Purāṇa book cover
context information

The Purāṇas (पुराण, purana) refers to Sanskrit literature preserving ancient India’s vast cultural history, including historical legends, religious ceremonies, various arts and sciences. The eighteen mahāpurāṇas total over 400,000 ślokas (metrical couplets) and date to at least several centuries BCE.

In Buddhism

Mahayana (major branch of Buddhism)

Mātsarya (मात्सर्य, “avarice”) refers to one of ten types of manifestly active defilements (paryavasthāna) according to Mahāprajñāpāramitāśāstra chapter 13.—The Bodhisattvas (accompanying the Buddha at Rājagṛha on the Gṛdhrakūṭaparvata) excelled in destroying various these ten manifestly active defilements (eg., Mātsarya).

(Source): Wisdom Library: Maha Prajnaparamita Sastra
Mahayana book cover
context information

Mahayana (महायान, mahāyāna) is a major branch of Buddhism focusing on the path of a Bodhisattva (spiritual aspirants/ enlightened beings). Extant literature is vast and primarely composed in the Sanskrit language. There are many sūtras of which some of the earliest are the various Prajñāpāramitā sūtras.

General definition (in Buddhism)

1) Mātsarya (मात्सर्य, “selfishness”) refers to one of the fourty “conditions” (saṃskāra) that are “associated with mind” (citta-samprayukta) as defined in the Dharma-saṃgraha (section 30). The Dharma-samgraha (Dharmasangraha) is an extensive glossary of Buddhist technical terms in Sanskrit (eg., mātsarya). The work is attributed to Nagarguna who lived around the 2nd century A.D.

Mātsarya also refers to one of the “twenty-four minor defilements” (upakleśa) as defined in the Dharma-saṃgraha (section 69).

2) Mātsarya (मात्सर्य) refers to the “five selfishnesses” as defined in the Dharma-saṃgraha (section 78):

  1. dharma-mātsarya (selfishness regarding dharma),
  2. lābha-mātsarya (selfishness regarding wealth),
  3. āvāsa-mātsarya (selfishness regarding dwellings),
  4. kuśala-mātsarya (selfishness regarding wholesomeness),
  5. varṇa-mātsarya (selfishness regarding class).

The Dharma-samgraha (Dharmasangraha) is an extensive glossary of Buddhist technical terms in Sanskrit (eg., mātsarya). The work is attributed to Nagarguna who lived around the 2nd century A.D.

(Source): Wisdom Library: Dharma-samgraha

In Jainism

General definition (in Jainism)

Mātsarya (मात्सर्य, “jealousy”) refers to “non-imparting (out of jealousy) of true knowledge” and it is one of the causes leading to the influx (āsrana) of karmas which obscure knowledge and perception.

Mātsarya is a Sanskrit technical term defined in the Tattvārthasūtra (ancient authorative Jain scripture) from the 2nd century, which contains aphorisms dealing with philosophy and the nature of reality.

(Source): Wisdom Library: Jainism

Mātsarya (मात्सर्य).—What is meant by ‘non-imparting knowledge out of jealousy (mātsarya)’? Not responding to a query by a learned person i.e. does not reply thinking that the person seeking knowledge will become equal or more than him, is non-imparting knowledge out of jealousy / envy (mātsarya).

(Source): Encyclopedia of Jainism: Tattvartha Sutra 6: Influx of karmas
General definition book cover
context information

Jainism is an Indian religion of Dharma whose doctrine revolves around harmlessness (ahimsa) towards every living being. The two major branches (Digambara and Svetambara) of Jainism stimulate self-control (or, shramana, ‘self-reliance’) and spiritual development through a path of peace for the soul to progess to the ultimate goal.

Languages of India and abroad

Marathi-English dictionary

mātsarya (मात्सर्य).—n S Envy, impatience of another's excellence or prosperity.

(Source): DDSA: The Molesworth Marathi and English Dictionary

mātsarya (मात्सर्य).—n Envy. Impatience of one's excellence or prosperity.

(Source): DDSA: The Aryabhusan school dictionary, Marathi-English
context information

Marathi is an Indo-European language having over 70 million native speakers people in (predominantly) Maharashtra India. Marathi, like many other Indo-Aryan languages, evolved from early forms of Prakrit, which itself is a subset of Sanskrit, one of the most ancient languages of the world.

Relevant definitions

Search found 20 related definition(s) that might help you understand this better. Below you will find the 15 most relevant articles:

Kuśalamātsarya (कुशलमात्सर्य) or simply Kuśala refers to the “selfishness regarding wholesomene...
Varṇamātsarya (वर्णमात्सर्य) or simply Varṇa refers to the “selfishness regarding class” and re...
Dharmamātsarya (धर्ममात्सर्य) or simply Dharma refers to the “selfishness regarding dharma” and...
Lābhamātsarya (लाभमात्सर्य) or simply Lābha refers to the “selfishness regarding wealth” and re...
Āvāsamātsarya (आवासमात्सर्य) or simply Āvāsa refers to the “selfishness regarding dwellings” an...
Dharma (धर्म)  is the second of the “three treasures” (triratna) defined in the Dharm...
Varṇa (वर्ण, “class”) or Varṇamātsarya refers to “selfishness regarding class” and represents o...
Saṃskāra (संस्कार) refers to “purificatory rites of fire” and forms part of preliminary rites b...
1) Kuśala (कुशल) or Daśakuśala refers to the “ten unwholesome things” as defined in the Dharma-...
Tyāga (त्याग, “generosity”) or Tyāgānusmṛti refers to one of the “six recollections” (anusmṛti)...
Āvāsa (आवास, “dwellings”) or Āvāsamātsarya refers to “selfishness regarding dwellings” and repr...
Lābha (लाभ, “greed”) refers to one of the “eight worldly conditions” (lokadharma) as defined in...
Kunta (कुन्त) refers to the “javelin”, a weapon which should measure should measure ten tā...
Five Selfishnesses
Five Selfishnesses:—A technical term in Buddhism corresponding to the Sanskrit mātsar...
Indrani refers to one of the seven mother-like goddesses (Matrika).—The Matrikas emerge as shak...

Relevant text

- Was this explanation helpful? Leave a comment:

Make this page a better place for research and define the term yourself in your own words.

You have to be a member in order to post comments. Click here to login or click here to become a member.