Triratna, aka: Tri-ratna; 3 Definition(s)


Triratna means something in Buddhism, Pali, Jainism, Prakrit, Hinduism, Sanskrit. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Buddhism

General definition (in Buddhism)

Triratna in Buddhism glossary... « previous · [T] · next »

1) Triratna (त्रिरत्न) refers to the “three treasures” as defined in the Dharma-saṃgraha (section 1):

  1. Buddha, 
  2. Saṅgha (Saṃgha), 
  3. Dharma.

The Dharma-samgraha (Dharmasangraha) is an extensive glossary of Buddhist technical terms in Sanskrit (eg., triratna). The work is attributed to Nagarguna who lived around the 2nd century A.D.

2) Triratna (त्रिरत्न, “three jewels”) refers to the second of the “four factors of faith” (śraddhā) as defined in the Dharma-saṃgraha (section 81).

Source: Wisdom Library: Dharma-samgraha

Three Jewels (Skt., triratna) (Pali, tiratna), lit., “three precious ones”; the three essential components of Buddhism: Buddha, dharma, sangha—i.e. the Awakened One, the truth expounded by him, and the followers living in accordance with this truth. Firm faith in the three precious ones is the stage of “stream-entry.” The three precious ones are objects of veneration and are considered “places of refuge.” The Buddhist takes refuge in them by pronouncing the threefold refuge formula, thus acknowledging him- or herself publicly to be a Buddhist. Contemplation of the three precious ones comprises three of the ten contemplations.

Source: Shambala Publications: General

In Jainism

General definition (in Jainism)

Triratna in Jainism glossary... « previous · [T] · next »

Triratna (त्रिरत्न) refers to “three gems” as defined within Jain ethical conduct (nītiśāstra).—Jainism places great emphasis on three most important things in life, called three gems (triratna).

These triratna are:

  1. right vision (samyak-dṛṣṭī),
  2. right knowledge (samyak-jñāna),
  3. right conduct (samyak-cāritra).

Apart from these, Jain thinkers emphasize the need for reverence (śraddhā).

Source: Knowledge Traditions & Practices of India: Indian Ethics: Individual and Social (jainism)
General definition book cover
context information

Jainism is an Indian religion of Dharma whose doctrine revolves around harmlessness (ahimsa) towards every living being. The two major branches (Digambara and Svetambara) of Jainism stimulate self-control (or, shramana, ‘self-reliance’) and spiritual development through a path of peace for the soul to progess to the ultimate goal.

Discover the meaning of triratna in the context of General definition from relevant books on Exotic India

Relevant definitions

Search found 628 related definition(s) that might help you understand this better. Below you will find the 15 most relevant articles:

Trivikrama (त्रिविक्रम) refers to one of the various Vibhava manifestations according to the Īś...
Ratna (रत्न) refers to “ruby” and represents a kind of precious stone (gem) used for the making...
Tripurā (त्रिपुरा) is one of the epithets of Durgā, according to the Kathāsaritsāgara, chapter ...
1) Ratnākara (रत्नाकर) is the name of an ancient city, according to the Kathāsaritsāgara, chapt...
Triśūla (त्रिशूल) or Triśūlahasta refers to “triad” and represents one of the twenty-four gestu...
Tripiṭaka (त्रिपिटक).—the 3 collections of Buddhistic sacred writings (sutta, vinaya and abhidh...
Tryambaka (त्र्यम्बक).—One of the Ekādaśa Rudras (eleven Rudras). See under Ekādaśarudra).
Trikūṭa (त्रिकूट) is the name of a mountain as described in the Kathāsaritsāgara, chapter 46. A...
Trilocana (त्रिलोचन), a brilliant Naiyāyika wrote Nyāyamañjarī. His time is speculated as about...
Triphalā (त्रिफला).—(1) the three myrobalans taken collectively, namely, Terminalia Chebula, T....
Trikala (त्रिकल) is the name of a deity who received the Kāmikāgama from Praṇava through the ma...
Trinetra.—(IE 7-1-2), ‘three’. Note: trinetra is defined in the “Indian epigraphical glossary” ...
Saptaratna (सप्तरत्न) refers to the seven jewels of a Cakravartin, as mentioned in the Kathāsar...
Trimūrti (त्रिमूर्ति) or simply Tri refers to one of the ten forms (mūrti) of Śiva mentioned in...
Tri-guṇa.—(IE 7-1-2), ‘three’. Note: tri-guṇa is defined in the “Indian epigraphical glossary” ...

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: