Balimandapa, Balimaṇḍapa, Bali-mandapa: 1 definition


Balimandapa means something in Hinduism, Sanskrit. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Hinduism

Shaktism (Shakta philosophy)

[«previous next»] — Balimandapa in Shaktism glossary
Source: JSTOR: Tāntric Dīkṣā by Surya Kanta

Balimaṇḍapa (बलिमण्डप) refers to “a temporary hall created for ceremonial occasions” and is first constructed in the following manner. A string, 8 hastas (a hasta is the distance between the elbow and the tip of the middle finger equal to 18 inches) in length, is laid on even and well-sprinkled ground in the direction from east to west. With one end of the string as centre and a radius equal to a little more than half of the length of the string the teacher draws one arc above and another below the string. Again, with the other end of the string as centre and with the same radius he draws two similar arcs intersecting the first two.

Then a string is laid down north and south joining the points of intersection of the arcs. Thus, a quadrangle having four apartments, is drawn. Similarly, with the four ends of the strings as centres intersecting arcs are drawn and two strings are placed joining the points of intersection in the directions N. E. to S. W. and N. W. to S. E. Thus, a figure, having eight apartments, is formed. Applying the same process again and again the teacher divides the figurs into sixty-four apartments.

Middle: In the middle of the figure Brahmā is worshipped.

First four: Ārya, Vivasvān, Mitra, and Mahīdhara.

Next eight: Sāvitra, Savitā, Śakra, Indrajaya, Rudra, Rudrajaya, Āpa and Āpavatsaka.

Next eight: Śarva, Guha, Aryaman, Jṛmbhaka, Pilapicchaka, Cakrī, Vidārī and Pūtanā.

Eastern quarter: Īśāna, Parjanya, Jayanta, Śakra, Bhāskara, Satya, Vṛṣa and Antarikṣa.

Southern quarter: Agni, Pūṣā, Vitatha, Yama, Gṛharakṣaka, Gandharva, Bhṛṅgarāja and Mṛga.

Western quarter: Nirṛti, Dauvārika, Sugrīva, Varuṇa, Puṣpadanta, Asura, Śeṣa and Rāga.

Northern quarter: Vāyu, Nāga, Mukhya, Soma, Bhallāṭa, Argala, Ditya and Diti in the north.

The total number of the gods worshipped is thus 53. To the 53 gods, mentioned above, ball offerings of pāyasa (rice boiled in milk) are given. Thus, ends the Vāstu-bali, which bestows prosperity.

Shaktism book cover
context information

Shakta (शाक्त, śākta) or Shaktism (śāktism) represents a tradition of Hinduism where the Goddess (Devi) is revered and worshipped. Shakta literature includes a range of scriptures, including various Agamas and Tantras, although its roots may be traced back to the Vedas.

Discover the meaning of balimandapa in the context of Shaktism from relevant books on Exotic India

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Help me keep this site Ad-Free

For over a decade, this site has never bothered you with ads. I want to keep it that way. But I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased truth, wisdom and knowledge.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: