Historical Elements in the Matsya Purana

by Chaitali Kadia | 2021 | 91,183 words

This page relates ‘Lineages of Parashara’ of the study on the historical elements of the Matsya-purana: one of the eighteen Mahapuranas which are Sanskrit texts that have preserved the cultural heritage, philosophy, religion, geography, etc of ancient India. This Matsyapurana was originally written in 20,000 verses and deals with topics such as architecture, ancient history, polity, religion and philosophy.

Ṛṣi Vasiṣṭha and Agastya were born as the son of Mitra and Varauṇa. Vasiṣṭha received beautiful Arundhatī as his wife. Arundhatī gave birth to a son named Śakti. Śakti’s son was Parāśara. Lord Viṣṇu was born as the son of Parāśara. He was famous as Dvaipāyana.

Kāṇḍaśaya, Vāhanapa, Jaihmapa, Bhaumatāpana and Gopāli–these five sages were known as Goura Paraśara. Prapohaya, Vāhyamaya, Khāteya, Kautujāti and Haryasvi–these five sages known as Nīla Paraśara. Kārṣṇāyana, Kapimukha, Kākeyastha, Japati and Puṣkara–these sages were famous as Kṛṣṇa Parāśara. Śrāviṣṭhāyana, Bāleya, Svāyaṣṭa, Upaya and Iṣīkahasta–these five sages were known as Śveta Parāśara. Vātika, Bādari, Stamba, Krodhanāyaan and Kṣemi–these five sages were known as Śyāma Parāśara. Khalyāyana, Vārṣṇāyana, Taileya, Yūthapa and Tanti–these five sages were famous as the Dhūmra Parāśara. All the above sages were belonging to the Pravara of Parāśara, Śakti and Vasiṣṭha. They were prohibited to intermarry.[1]

Footnotes and references:


Matsya Purāṇa, Ch.–201/29–31, 33–38

Help me keep this site Ad-Free

For over a decade, this site has never bothered you with ads. I want to keep it that way. But I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased truth, wisdom and knowledge.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: