Sattvikabhava, Sāttvikabhāva, Sattvika-bhava: 6 definitions


Sattvikabhava means something in Hinduism, Sanskrit. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Hinduism

Natyashastra (theatrics and dramaturgy)

[«previous next»] — Sattvikabhava in Natyashastra glossary
Source: Wisdom Library: Nāṭya-śāstra

Sāttvikabhāva (सात्त्विकभाव) refers to “involuntary state”, according to the Nāṭyaśāstra chapter 6.

There are eight kinds of sāttvikabhāva described:

  1. stambha (paralysis),
  2. pralaya (fainting),
  3. romāñca (horripilation),
  4. sveda (sweating),
  5. vaivarṇya (change of color),
  6. vepathu (trembling),
  7. aśru (weeping),
  8. vaisvarya (change of voice).
Source: Natya Shastra

Sāttvikabhāva (सात्त्विकभाव).—Now it may be asked, “Are these States called sāttvika, because other States (determinants (vibhāva), consequents (anubhāva) and transitory states (vyabhicāribhāva)) are said to be devoid of sattva?” [In answer] it is said that the sattva in this connexion is [something] originating in mind. It is caused by the concentrated mind. The sattva is accomplished by concentration of the mind. Its nature [which includes] horripilation, tears, loss of colour and the like, cannot be mimicked by an absent-minded man. The Sattva is desired in a play because of its imitating human nature.

The eight Sāttvika States are as follows: Paralysis, Perspiration, Horripilation, Change of Voice, Trembling, Change of Colour, Weeping and Fainting.

Source: Shodhganga: The significance of the mūla-beras (natya)

Sāttvikabhāva (सात्त्विकभाव) refers to “temperamental states”, and represents one of divisions of Bhāva (“psychological states of the mind”) as used within the classical tradition of Indian dance and performance, also known as Bharatanatyam.—Bhāva infuses the meaning of the play into the hearts of the spectators. There are three states in bhāvas. They are vibhāva (determinant), anubhāva (consequents) and vyabhicāribhāva (transient state). There are two more bhāvas namely sthāyibhāvas (dominant) and sāttvikabhāvas (temperamental states). In total, there are forty-nine bhāvas. They are the eight sthāyibhāvas, thirty-three vyabhicaribhāvas and eight sāttvikabhāvas.

Natyashastra book cover
context information

Natyashastra (नाट्यशास्त्र, nāṭyaśāstra) refers to both the ancient Indian tradition (shastra) of performing arts, (natya—theatrics, drama, dance, music), as well as the name of a Sanskrit work dealing with these subjects. It also teaches the rules for composing Dramatic plays (nataka), construction and performance of Theater, and Poetic works (kavya).

Discover the meaning of sattvikabhava in the context of Natyashastra from relevant books on Exotic India

Vaishnavism (Vaishava dharma)

[«previous next»] — Sattvikabhava in Vaishnavism glossary
Source: Pure Bhakti: Bhajana-rahasya - 2nd Edition

Sāttvikabhāva (सात्त्विकभाव) refers to:—One of the five essential ingredients of rasa (see Rasa); eight symptoms of spiritual ecstasy. (cf. Glossary page from Bhajana-Rahasya).

Vaishnavism book cover
context information

Vaishnava (वैष्णव, vaiṣṇava) or vaishnavism (vaiṣṇavism) represents a tradition of Hinduism worshipping Vishnu as the supreme Lord. Similar to the Shaktism and Shaivism traditions, Vaishnavism also developed as an individual movement, famous for its exposition of the dashavatara (‘ten avatars of Vishnu’).

Discover the meaning of sattvikabhava in the context of Vaishnavism from relevant books on Exotic India

Purana and Itihasa (epic history)

[«previous next»] — Sattvikabhava in Purana glossary
Source: Shiva Purana - English Translation

Sāttvikabhāva (सात्त्विकभाव) refers to “Sāttvika feelings”, according to the Śivapurāṇa 2.3.14 (“The Birth of Tāraka and Vajrāṅga”).—Accordingly, after Vajrāṅga spoke to Brahmā: “On hearing that, O sage, I said—‘Sāttvika feelings [i.e., sāttvikabhāvasāttviko bhāva] constitute the essence of real philosophy. I shall lovingly create an exquisite lady’. After offering her who was named Varāṅgī, to that son of Diti, I went to my abode in great delight. So also Kaśyapa, his father. Thereafter the demon eschewed his diabolical feelings and resorted to sublime thoughts. Since he was free from fiendish feelings he became happy. [...]”.

Purana book cover
context information

The Purana (पुराण, purāṇas) refers to Sanskrit literature preserving ancient India’s vast cultural history, including historical legends, religious ceremonies, various arts and sciences. The eighteen mahapuranas total over 400,000 shlokas (metrical couplets) and date to at least several centuries BCE.

Discover the meaning of sattvikabhava in the context of Purana from relevant books on Exotic India

Languages of India and abroad

Kannada-English dictionary

[«previous next»] — Sattvikabhava in Kannada glossary
Source: Alar: Kannada-English corpus

Sāttvikabhāva (ಸಾತ್ತ್ವಿಕಭಾವ):—[noun] = ಸಾತ್ತ್ವಿಕ [sattvika]2 - 6 & 7.

context information

Kannada is a Dravidian language (as opposed to the Indo-European language family) mainly spoken in the southwestern region of India.

Discover the meaning of sattvikabhava in the context of Kannada from relevant books on Exotic India

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Help me keep this site Ad-Free

For over a decade, this site has never bothered you with ads. I want to keep it that way. But I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased truth, wisdom and knowledge.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: