Paramita, aka: Pāramitā; 9 Definition(s)


Paramita means something in Buddhism, Pali, Marathi. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Buddhism

Theravada (major branch of Buddhism)

Perfection of the character. A group of ten qualities developed over many lifetimes by a bodhisatta, which appear as a group in the Pali canon only in the Jataka ("Birth Stories"): generosity (dana), virtue (sila), renunciation (nekkhamma), discernment (panna), energy/persistence (viriya), patience/forbearance (khanti), truthfulness (sacca), determination (adhitthana), good will (metta), equanimity (upekkha).(Source): Access to Insight: A Glossary of Pali and Buddhist Terms

F (Noble practice, noble accomplishment). Positive action by means of the body, speech or the mind, which is motivated by a will to progress on the path to perfection, the path of dhamma.

Only when the development of the paramis reaches the peak of its maturity can nibbana be experienced. There are 10 paramis:

  1. dana parami: Forsaking ones goods and possessions (animals or non living objects) by making gifts.
  2. sila parami: Control of ones actions and speeches in order to refrain from evil actions.
  3. nekkhamma parami: Renouncement of the life of the laity to the sake of a solitary life (bhikkhu, ermite).
  4. panna parami: Development of knowledge and understanding through study and analytical reflection. Imparting knowledge to others. Making use of ones wisdom so as to take the highest benefits from it.
  5. viriya parami: Effort to do good to others as much as possible and to the peril ones life.
  6. khanti parami: Establishment of an always perfect tolerance, whatever, on others behalf, performed actions and uttered speeches might be.
  7. sacca parami: Truthfulness (to tell only what is fair).
  8. adhitthana parami: Decision to solely perform beneficial actions and to stick to them.
  9. metta parami: Cultivation of a state of mind turned towards others happiness, to practice love towards all beings.
  10. upekkha parami: Rejection of hatred and adoration. Not to stick to an idea in particular. Keeping ones mind even minded.

(Source): Dhamma Dana: Pali English Glossary
context information

Theravāda is a major branch of Buddhism having the the Pali canon (tipitaka) as their canonical literature, which includes the vinaya-pitaka (monastic rules), the sutta-pitaka (Buddhist sermons) and the abhidhamma-pitaka (philosophy and psychology).


pāramitā : (f.) completeness; perfection.

(Source): BuddhaSasana: Concise Pali-English Dictionary

Pāramitā, (f.) (pāramī+tā)=pāramī Nett 87. (Page 454)

(Source): Sutta: The Pali Text Society's Pali-English Dictionary
Pali book cover
context information

Pali is the language of the Tipiṭaka, which is the sacred canon of Theravāda Buddhism and contains much of the Buddha’s speech. Closeley related to Sanskrit, both languages are used interchangeably between religions.

General definition (in Buddhism)

The Six Paramita or means of so doings are (1) dana - charity/giving (2) sila - moral/conduct/taking precepts (3) ksanti - patience (4) virya - vigor/devotion/energy (5) dhyana - contemplation/meditation (6) prajna - wisdom. The Ten Paramita are the above plus (7) upaya - use of expedient or proper means (8) pranidhana - vow of bodhi and helpfulness (9) bala - strength (10) intelligence Childers gives the list of ten as the perfect exercise of * charity/almsgiving, * morality, * renunciation, * wisdom, * energy/effort, * patience, * truth, * resolution/determination, * kindness/universal love and * resignation/equanimity. Each of the ten is divided into ordinary, superior and unlimited perfection, making up to thirty in total. (Source): Buddhist Door: Glossary

Pāramitā Skt., lit., “that which has reached the other shore,” the transcendental. The pāramitās, generally translated as “the perfections,” are the virtues perfected by a bodhisattva in the course of his or her development. There are six of these: (1) dāna-pāramitā (generosity), (2) shīla-pāramitā (discipline), (3) kshānti-pāramitā (patience), (4) vīrya-pāramitā (energy of exertion), (5) dhyāna-pāramitā (meditation), (6) prajñā-pāramitā (wisdom). Frequently four further virtues are added, which were accepted into the canon later: (7) upāya-kaushala-pāramitā (right method or means), (8) pranidhāna-pāramitā (vow), (9) bala-pāramitā (manifestation of the ten powers, dashabala), (10) jñāna-pāramitā (knowledge of the true definitions of all dharmas).

(Source): Shambala Publications: General

pāramitā, (pārami or pāramī [pārami, pāramī, pāramitā]) transcendental virtues or perfections. Pāram means beyond. It means to go, to go to the other shore, that is, to go beyond the realm of saṃsāra. The term pārami is used to denote the virtues to be practised by a Bodhisattva in order to attain the Buddhahood. The following virtues are known as ṣaṭ pāramitā-s, or six virtues. They are explained by the Buddha in the Vajracchedikā Prajñā Pāramitā Sūtra, to Subhūti and the other monks in an assembly.

  1. charity (dāna),
  2. morality (śīla),
  3. forbearance (kṣānti),
  4. energy (vīrya),
  5. meditation (dhyāna), and
  6. wisdom (prajñā).
(Source): DLMBS: Buddhānusmṛti

Languages of India and abroad

Marathi-English dictionary

paramīta (परमीत).—f n (Corr. from parimiti) Measure, magnitude, determined quantity.

(Source): DDSA: The Molesworth Marathi and English Dictionary

paramīta (परमीत).—f n Measure, magnitude.

(Source): DDSA: The Aryabhusan school dictionary, Marathi-English
context information

Marathi is an Indo-European language having over 70 million native speakers people in (predominantly) Maharashtra India. Marathi, like many other Indo-Aryan languages, evolved from early forms of Prakrit, which itself is a subset of Sanskrit, one of the most ancient languages of the world.

Relevant definitions

Search found 48 related definition(s) that might help you understand this better. Below you will find the 15 most relevant articles:

Prajñāpāramitā (प्रज्ञापारमिता) or simply prajñā refers to the “perfection of wisdom” and repre...
Kṣāntipāramitā (क्षान्तिपारमिता) or simply kṣānti refers to the “perfection of patience” and re...
Dhyānapāramitā (ध्यानपारमिता) or simply dhyāna refers to the “perfection of meditation” and rep...
Dānapāramitā (दानपारमिता) or simply dāna refers to the “perfection of generosity” and represent...
Śīlapāramitā (शीलपारमिता) or simply śīla refers to the “perfection of virtue” and represents th...
Vīryapāramitā (वीर्यपारमिता) or simply vīrya refers to the “perfection of energy” and represent...
Daśapāramitā (दशपारमिता) refers to the “ten perferctions” as defined in the Dharma-saṃgraha (se...
Ṣaṭpāramitā (षट्पारमिता) refers to the “six perferctions” as defined in the Dharma-saṃgraha (se...
Upāyapāramitā (उपायपारमिता) or simply upāya refers to the “perfection of skilful means” and rep...
Praṇidhipāramitā (प्रणिधिपारमिता) or simply praṇidhi refers to the “perfection of aspiration” a...
Balapāramitā (बलपारमिता) or simply bala refers to the “perfection of strength” and represents t...
Jñānapāramitā (ज्ञानपारमिता) or simply jñāna refers to the “perfection of knowledge” and repres...
Prajñāpāramitā-sūtra also Mahāprajñāpā­ramitā-sūtra, Skt., lit., “[Great] Sūtra of the W...
Six Paramita
See Paramita.
Ten Paramita
see Paramita.

Relevant text

- Was this explanation helpful? Leave a comment:

Make this page a better place for research and define the term yourself in your own words.

You have to be a member in order to post comments. Click here to login or click here to become a member.