Varahi Tantra (English Study)

by Roberta Pamio | 2014 | 29,726 words

This English essay studies the Varahi Tantra and introduces the reader to the literature and philosophy of the Shakta Tradition to which this text belongs. These Shakta Tantras are doctrines where the Mother Goddess is conceived as the Supreme deity who is immanent and transcendental at the same time. The Varahitantra (lit. the "Doctrine of th...

Chapter 20 - Various explanations of the Krama system

This chapter deals with various explanations of the Krama system according to the first 116 verses of the ninth chapter of the Ciñcinīmatasārasamuccaya

The caruyāga (vv.1-9), the characteristics of regular and occasional worship (vv.10-12), the four excellences (13-16') and the qualities of a disciple (vv.16"-27') are described.

Then the main definitions on the Krama system are given: thus verses 27"-33 explain the knowledge (kramajñāna), the object of knowledge (kramajñeya) and the aim (kramalakśya) of Krama; verses 34-57 speak about creation (kramodaya) and of the sixfold subdivision in Krama (kramabheda) (i.e. the six cakras); verses 37"-59' tell about the lineage (kramaugha), the transcendental state (kramātīta), the accomplishment (kramasiddhi) and practice (kramābhyāsa) in the Krama system; verses 58-59' state that the one free from the five elements is called Akula and his desire, who is the supreme power, pure and virtuous, is called Kula, the origin of supreme bliss.

Verses 59"-61 give different subdivisions.

Verses 62-72' speak about the importance of worship on special days (parva),[1] in particular about the eighth day of the half dark of the months of of Phalguna, Caitra and Śrāvaṇa.

Verses 72"-114 describe the Tantra abhiṣeka, the Kula abhiṣeka and the Krama abhiṣeka.

Footnotes and references:


The parvas are the days of the four changes of the moon, such as the full and new moon, and the eighth and the fourteen days of every half month.

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: