Dasarupaka (critical study)

by Anuru Ranjan Mishra | 2015 | 106,293 words

Summary: An English study of the Dasarupaka of Dhananjaya, one of the most important works on Hindu dramaturgy from the tenth century, taking its basic information from the Natya-shastra. The Dasharupaka deals with the ten divisions of Sanskrit dramas and explains for each type their technical principals and essential dramaturgical aspects.

The ten types of Drama, based on the plot (vastu), hero (neta) and sentiment (rasa), are classified as follows: 1) Nataka, 2) Prakarana, 3) Bhana, 4) Vithi, 5) Dima, 6) Ihamriga, 7) Samavakara, 8) Vyayoga, 9) Anka and 10) Prahasana.

Other titles include: Dhanañjaya (दशरूपक), (धनञ्जय) Dhanaṃjaya (धनंजय), Dhanamjaya.

Source: shodhganga.inflibnet.ac.in

Contents of this online book ( + / - )

The full text of the Dasarupaka (critical study) in English is available here and publically accesible (free to read online). Of course, I would always recommend buying the book so you get the latest edition. You can see all this book’s content by visiting the pages in the below index:


Comment functionality currently not enabled
Help me keep this site Ad-Free

For over a decade, this site has never bothered you with ads. I want to keep it that way. But I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased truth, wisdom and knowledge.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: