Dasarupaka (critical study)

by Anuru Ranjan Mishra | 2015 | 106,293 words

This page relates ‘Vatsaraja—Author of the drama (Samudramanthana)’ of the English study of the Dasarupaka of Dhananjaya: an important work on Hindu dramaturgy (Natya-shastra) from the tenth century dealing with the ten divisions of Sanskrit drama (nata), describing their technical aspects and essential dramaturgical principals. These ten types of drama are categorised based on the plot (vastu), hero (neta) and sentiment (rasa)

Part 1 - Vatsarāja—Author of the drama (Samudramanthana)

The author of the Samudramanthana Samavakāra is Vatsarāja; who was a minister and court poet of Paramardideva of Kāliñjara. Not much is known definitely about him.

However, like Bāsa, Vatsarāja has also written different varieties of drama (rūpakas), i.e.

  1. Rukmiṇīharaṇa, an Īhāmṛga;
  2. Tripuradāha, a Ḍima;
  3. Samudramanthana, a Samavakāra;
  4. Karpūracarita, a Bhāṇa;
  5. Hāsyacūḍāmaṇi, a Prahasana and
  6. Kirātārjuniya, a Vyāyoga.

Vatsarāja was the minister of Paramardideva, who reigned from 1163 to 1203 century A.D. and also of Trailokyavarman who succeeded Paramardideva and lasted until the end of the first half of the 13th century. Therefore, the date of Vatsarāja should be between the second half of the 12th century and the first quarter of the 13th century A.D.

Let's grow together!

I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased sources, definitions and images. Your donation direclty influences the quality and quantity of knowledge, wisdom and spiritual insight the world is exposed to.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: