Dasarupaka (critical study)

by Anuru Ranjan Mishra | 2015 | 106,293 words

This page relates ‘Vatsaraja—Author of the drama (Rukminiharana)’ of the English study of the Dasarupaka of Dhananjaya: an important work on Hindu dramaturgy (Natya-shastra) from the tenth century dealing with the ten divisions of Sanskrit drama (nata), describing their technical aspects and essential dramaturgical principals. These ten types of drama are categorised based on the plot (vastu), hero (neta) and sentiment (rasa)

Part 1 - Vatsarāja—Author of the drama (Rukmiṇīharaṇa)

The author of the Rukmiṇīharaṇa is Vatsarāja; who was a minister and court poet of Paramardideva of Kāliñjara. There is not much information about him or his family.

He has written different varieties of drama (rūpakas), i.e.

  1. Rukmiṇīharaṇa, an Īhāmṛga;
  2. Tripuradāha, a Dīma;
  3. Samudramanthana, a Samavakāra;
  4. Karpuracarita, a Bhāṇa;
  5. Hāsyacuḍāmaṇi, a Prahasana and
  6. Kirātārjuniya, a Vyāyoga.

Vatsarāja was the minister of Paramardideva, who reigned from 1163 to 1203 A.D. and also of Trailokyavarman who succeeded Paramardideva and lasted until about the end of the first half of the 13th century. Therefore, the date of Vatsarāja should be between the second half of the 12th century and the first quarter of the 13th century A.D.

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: