Dasarupaka (critical study)

by Anuru Ranjan Mishra | 2015 | 106,293 words

This page relates ‘Acknowledgements’ of the English study of the Dasarupaka of Dhananjaya: an important work on Hindu dramaturgy (Natya-shastra) from the tenth century dealing with the ten divisions of Sanskrit drama (nata), describing their technical aspects and essential dramaturgical principals. These ten types of drama are categorised based on the plot (vastu), hero (neta) and sentiment (rasa)


I wish to express my deep gratitude to my guide, Prof. V. P. Bhatta, for his sincere and precious help and guidance. He has also offered valuable suggestions.

I also wish to express my sincere gratitude to Prof. Vinaya Kshirsagar, the Head of the Department of Sanskrit and Lexicography, Deccan College and to Prof. Jayashree Sathe, the General Editor (Sanskrit Dictionary Project) and Pro-Vice Chancellor of Deccan College and all the Faculties of the Department of Sanskrit and Lexicography and friends.

I would like to thank the authors, whose works helped me directly and indirectly in my research works.

Again, I wish to thank all the librarians of library of CASS, University of Pune, BORI and Deccan College for allowing me to use their collections and special thanks to senior library assistant Dhananjaya Survase for his great help.

Finally, I am thankful and indebted to my family, in-laws family for their patience and support. I would also like to thank Ravibhaina, Kashibhaina and Purnabhaina who helped me a lot.

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: