Sprashtavya, Spraṣṭavya: 5 definitions


Sprashtavya means something in Buddhism, Pali, Hinduism, Sanskrit. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

The Sanskrit term Spraṣṭavya can be transliterated into English as Sprastavya or Sprashtavya, using the IAST transliteration scheme (?).

In Buddhism

General definition (in Buddhism)

[«previous next»] — Sprashtavya in Buddhism glossary
Source: Wisdom Library: Dharma-samgraha

Spraṣṭavya (स्प्रष्टव्य) refers to the “eleven tangibles” as defined in the Dharma-saṃgraha (section 38):

  1. pṛthvī (solid),
  2. āpas (fluid),
  3. tejas (fiery),
  4. vāyu (windy),
  5. ślakṣṇatva (smooth),
  6. karkaśatva (rough),
  7. laghutva (light),
  8. gurutva (heavy),
  9. śīta (cool),
  10. jighatsā (hunger),
  11. pipāsā (thirst).

The Dharma-samgraha (Dharmasangraha) is an extensive glossary of Buddhist technical terms in Sanskrit (e.g., spraṣṭavya). The work is attributed to Nagarjuna who lived around the 2nd century A.D.

Languages of India and abroad

Sanskrit dictionary

[«previous next»] — Sprashtavya in Sanskrit glossary
Source: DDSA: The practical Sanskrit-English dictionary

Spraṣṭavya (स्प्रष्टव्य).—Touch, feeling.

Derivable forms: spraṣṭavyam (स्प्रष्टव्यम्).

Source: Cologne Digital Sanskrit Dictionaries: Edgerton Buddhist Hybrid Sanskrit Dictionary

Spraṣṭavya (स्प्रष्टव्य) or Praṣṭavya.—q.v. (compare pṛśati), object of touch; parallel with rūpa and the other objects of sense: Mahāvastu i.31.2; 337.17; ii.341.18 (v.l. sparśa); iii.52.11 °vyāṃ, acc. pl. (on gender see spraṣ°); Śikṣāsamuccaya 64.5.

--- OR ---

Spraṣṭavya (स्प्रष्टव्य).—nt. (in Mahāvastu sometimes has m. endings; also praṣṭavya, sparṣṭavya, qq.v.; = Pali phoṭṭhabba), orig. gdve. of Sanskrit spṛśati, used in [Buddhist Hybrid Sanskrit] (and Pali) for Sanskrit sparśa, contact, as object of the sense of touch (the organ is regularly kāya, rather than tvac); regularly associated with the other sense objects, rūpa, śabda, gandha, rasa (all Sanskrit), sometimes also 2 dharma (q.v., 2) as object of manas: Mahāvyutpatti 1863 (°vyam, n. sg.); 2037 (°vyāyatanam); 2054 (°vya-dhātuḥ); Mahāvastu ii.391.16 (Senart em. spṛṣṭavyāṃ, acc. pl., read sparṣ° or spraṣ°, closer to mss.); iii.290.2 (°vyā, n. pl.); Avadāna-śataka i.207.6 (°vyāni); Samādhirājasūtra 8.3; Śikṣāsamuccaya 128.5; 202.13 (kāyena °vyāni spṛṣṭvā); Gaṇḍavyūha 182.19; Bodhisattvabhūmi 37.12; 39.9 (°vyam, n. sg.); Laṅkāvatāra-sūtra 226.2; Sukhāvatīvyūha 26.8 et alibi; in Dharmasaṃgraha 38 list of eleven spraṣṭavyāni, viz. pṛthvy āpas tejo vāyuḥ ślakṣṇatvaṃ karkaśatvaṃ laghu- tvaṃ gurutvaṃ śītaṃ jighatsā pipāsā. (A curious hodge- podge!)

Source: Cologne Digital Sanskrit Dictionaries: Monier-Williams Sanskrit-English Dictionary

1) Spraṣṭavya (स्प्रष्टव्य):—[from spṛś] a mfn. to be touched or handled, [Manu-smṛti; Rāmāyaṇa; Hitopadeśa]

2) [v.s. ...] tangible, palpable, sensible, [Vajracchedikā]

3) [v.s. ...] n. touch, feeling, [Mahā-vyutpatti]

4) b spraṣṭṛ See [column]2.

[Sanskrit to German]

Sprashtavya in German

context information

Sanskrit, also spelled संस्कृतम् (saṃskṛtam), is an ancient language of India commonly seen as the grandmother of the Indo-European language family (even English!). Closely allied with Prakrit and Pali, Sanskrit is more exhaustive in both grammar and terms and has the most extensive collection of literature in the world, greatly surpassing its sister-languages Greek and Latin.

Discover the meaning of sprashtavya or sprastavya in the context of Sanskrit from relevant books on Exotic India

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Help me keep this site Ad-Free

For over a decade, this site has never bothered you with ads. I want to keep it that way. But I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased truth, wisdom and knowledge.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: