Eleven Tangibles: 1 definition


Eleven Tangibles means something in Buddhism, Pali. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Buddhism

General definition (in Buddhism)

[«previous next»] — Eleven Tangibles in Buddhism glossary
Source: Wisdom Library: Dharma-samgraha

Eleven Tangibles:—A technical term in Buddhism corresponding to the Sanskrit spraṣṭavya defined in the Dharma-saṃgraha (section 38):

  1. Solid (pṛthvī),
  2. Fluid (āpas),
  3. Fiery (tejas),
  4. Windy (vāyu),
  5. Smooth (ślakṣṇatva),
  6. Rough (karkaśatva),
  7. Light (laghutva),
  8. Heavy (gurutva),
  9. Cool (śīta),
  10. Hunger (jighatsā),
  11. Thirst (pipāsā).

The Dharma-samgraha (Dharmasangraha) is an extensive glossary of Buddhist technical terms in Sanskrit (e.g., ‘eleven tangibles’). The work is attributed to Nagarguna who lived around the 2nd century A.D.

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: