Pancaraksha, aka: Pañcarakṣā, Panca-raksha; 3 Definition(s)


Pancaraksha means something in Buddhism, Pali. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

The Sanskrit term Pañcarakṣā can be transliterated into English as Pancaraksa or Pancaraksha, using the IAST transliteration scheme (?).

Alternative spellings of this word include Pancharaksha.

In Buddhism

General definition (in Buddhism)

Pancaraksha in Buddhism glossary... « previous · [P] · next »

Pañcarakṣā (पञ्चरक्षा) refers to the “five protectors” as defined in the Dharma-saṃgraha (section 5):

  1. Pratisarā (assailer), 
  2. Sāhasrapramardanī (thousands-crusher), 
  3. Mārīcī (moonlight), 
  4. Mantrānusāriṇī (mantra-follower), 
  5. Śītavanī (cool wood).

The Dharma-samgraha (Dharmasangraha) is an extensive glossary of Buddhist technical terms in Sanskrit (eg., pañcarakṣā). The work is attributed to Nagarguna who lived around the 2nd century A.D.

Source: Wisdom Library: Dharma-samgraha

Pañcarakṣā (पञ्चरक्षा), that is, the “collection of the five dhāraṇīs” is popular in Nepal. These five protecting spells include:

  1. mahā-pratisarā (for protection against sin, disease and evils),
  2. mahā-sahasrapramardinī (for protection against evil spirits),
  3. mahā-māyūrī or vidyārājñī (for protection against snake-poison),
  4. mahā-śītavatī (for protection against 'cruel' planets, cruel animals and poisonous insects), and
  5. mahā rakṣā mantrānusāriṇī (for protection against diseases).
Source: DLMBS: Buddhānusmṛti

Pañcarakṣā (पञ्चरक्षा, “five protections”) consists of:

  1. Mahāpratisarā,
  2. Mahāmāyūrī,
  3. Mahāsāhasrapramardanī,
  4. Mahāmantrānusāriṇī,
  5. Mahāśītavatī (in various sequences).

The earliest evidence for texts grouped together as the “five great dhāraṇīs” comes from Tibetan catalogues around 800 CE. These scriptures include spells, enumerations of benefits and ritual instructions for use.

Source: Cambridge Digital Library: Pañcarakṣā, Saptavāra

Relevant definitions

Search found 615 related definition(s) that might help you understand this better. Below you will find the 15 most relevant articles:

Pañcagavya (पञ्चगव्य) refers to a compound of five cow-products, as defined in the Śivapurāṇa 1...
Pañca (पञ्च) is another name for Paṭola, a medicinal plant identified with Trichosanthes dioica...
Pañcaśīla (पञ्चशील) refers to “five rules” within Buddhism ethical conduct.—These moral instruc...
Pāñcajanya (पाञ्चजन्य).—m. (-nyaḥ) 1. Krishna'S conch. 2. A name of fire. 3. Any shell. 4. A so...
Pañcamahāyajña (पञ्चमहायज्ञ).—m. plu. (-jñāḥ) The five great sacraments of the Hindus, or the w...
Pañcendriya (पञ्चेन्द्रिय) refers to “five sensed living beings” and represents one of the five...
Rakṣā.—(EI 17), confirmation of a former grant. Note: rakṣā is defined in the “Indian epigraphi...
Pañcānana (पञ्चानन).—mfn. (-naḥ-nā-naṃ) Very passionate. m. (-naḥ) 1. A name of Siva. 2. (With ...
Gorakṣa (गोरक्ष).—1) a cowherd. 2) keeping or tending cattle. 3) the orange. 4) an epithet of Ś...
Pañcaśikha (पञ्चशिख).—A sage of ancient times. The Purāṇas give the following details about him...
Pañcavaktrā (पञ्चवक्त्रा).—A soldier who fought bravely against the asuras on the side of Subra...
Pañcāmṛta (पञ्चामृत) refers to five “ceremonial ablutions (snāna)”, as defined in the Śivapurāṇ...
Pañcāyatana (पञ्चायतन) or Pañcāyatanapūjā refers to the “worship of five forms”, which was popu...
Pañcabhūta (पञ्चभूत) or Pañcabhūtatantra refers to one of the twenty-eight Gāruḍatantras, belon...
Pāñcabhautika (पाञ्चभौतिक).—mfn. (-kaḥ-kī-kaṃ) Consisting or made of the five elements. E. pañc...

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: