Five Skandhas; 1 Definition(s)


Five Skandhas means something in Buddhism, Pali. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Buddhism

General definition (in Buddhism)

Five Skandhas in Buddhism glossary... « previous · [F] · next »

Or Five Aggregates, that is, the five components of an intelligent beings, or psychological analysis of the mind:

  1. Matter or Form (rupa) - the physical form responded to the five organs of senses, i.e., eye, ear, nose, tongue and body
  2. Sensation or Feeling (vedana) - the feeling in reception of physical things by the senses through the mind
  3. Recognition or Conception (sanjna) - the functioning of mind in distinguishing and formulating the concept
  4. Volition or Mental Formation (samskara) - habitual action, i.e., a conditioned response to the object of experience, whether it is good or evil, you like or dislike
  5. Consciousness (vijnana) - the mental faculty in regard to perception, cognition and experience
Source: Buddhist Door: Glossary

Relevant definitions

Search found 5122 related definition(s) that might help you understand this better. Below you will find the 15 most relevant articles:

Skandha (स्कन्ध) refers to an “aggregate” or “molecule” according to the 2nd-century Tattvārtha...
Vātaskandha (वातस्कन्ध).—A hermit. It is mentioned in Mahābhārata, Sabhā Parva, Chapter 7, Stan...
Pañcaskandha (पञ्चस्कन्ध) refers to the “five components” as defined in the Dharma-saṃgraha (se...
Vṛṣaskandha (वृषस्कन्ध).—a. having shoulders as lusty as those of a bull; वपुर्वष- स्कन्धसुबन्ध...
Skandhaskandha (स्कन्धस्कन्ध).—every shoulder.Derivable forms: skandhaskandhaḥ (स्कन्धस्कन्धः)....
Dīrghaskandha (दीर्घस्कन्ध).—the palm tree.Derivable forms: dīrghaskandhaḥ (दीर्घस्कन्धः).Dīrgh...
Vāyuskandha (वायुस्कन्ध).—the region of the wind.Derivable forms: vāyuskandhaḥ (वायुस्कन्धः).Vā...
Five Powers
Five Powers or Five Strengths:—A technical term in Buddhism corresponding to the Sans...
Five Stains
Five Stains according to the Maṇḍalabrāhmaṇa-upaniṣad.—The body has five stains (viz.,) passion...
Five Eyes
Five Eyes:—A technical term in Buddhism corresponding to the Sanskrit cakṣus defined ...
Five Hindrances
the 5: nīvarana.
Vijñānaskandha (विज्ञानस्कन्ध).—one of the five स्कन्ध (skandha)s postulated in the Buddhistic ...
Skandhamāra (स्कन्धमार) or simply Skandha refers to “the components destroyer” and represents o...
Anāsravaskandha (अनास्रवस्कन्ध) is another name for Lokottaraskandha and refers to the “five su...
Aṃhriskandha (अंह्रिस्कन्ध).—[aṃhreḥ skandha iva] the upper part of the sole of the foot.Deriva...

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: