Five Spiritual Faculties; 1 Definition(s)


Five Spiritual Faculties means something in Buddhism, Pali. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Buddhism

General definition (in Buddhism)

Five Spiritual Faculties in Buddhism glossary... « previous · [F] · next »

Five Spiritual Faculties :—A technical term in Buddhism corresponding to the Sanskrit pañcendriya defined in the Dharma-saṃgraha (section 47).

  1. Faith (śraddhā),
  2. Concentration (samādhi),
  3. Energy (vīrya),
  4. Mindfulness (smṛti),
  5. Wisdom (prajñā).

The Dharma-samgraha (Dharmasangraha) is an extensive glossary of Buddhist technical terms in Sanskrit (eg., ‘five spiritual faculties ’). The work is attributed to Nagarguna who lived around the 2nd century A.D.

Source: Wisdom Library: Dharma-samgraha

Relevant definitions

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: