Bhavanavasin, Bhavanavāsin: 3 definitions


Bhavanavasin means something in Jainism, Prakrit. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Jainism

General definition (in Jainism)

[«previous next»] — Bhavanavasin in Jainism glossary
Source: Wisdom Library: Jainism

Bhavanavāsin (भवनवासिन्) refers to a species of gods (deva), according to Jain cosmology. They are also known as the Bhaumikeyas.

The Bhavanavāsin are further classified into 10 subspecies:

  1. asurakumāra,
  2. nāgakumāra,
  3. vidyutkumāra,
  4. suparṇakumāra,
  5. agnikumāra,
  6. vātakumāra,
  7. stanitakumāra,
  8. udadhikumāra,
  9. dvīpakumāra,
  10. dikkumāra.

They all have a princely appearance (kumāra) and live in palaces (bhavana) and the upper part of the uppermost hell (ratnaprabhā).

Source: Google Books: The Doctrine of Karman in Jain Philosophy

Bhavanavāsin (भवनवासिन्).—The lowest species of gods (deva) are the Bhavanavāsins who, one their part, are divided into 10 classes, which have the following names:

  1. Asura-kumāra,
  2. Nāga-kumāra,
  3. Vidyut-kumāra,
  4. Suparṇa-kumāra,
  5. Agni-kumāra,
  6. Vāta-kumāra,
  7. Stanita-kumāra,
  8. Udadhi-kumāra,
  9. Dvīpa-kumāra,
  10. Dik-kumāra.

The first named ones are living in the upper part of the uppermost hell (Ratnaprabhā), the others in the earth. In appearance they equal princes, as the second part of their name indicates. At the head of each class are 2 Indras; the other members of a class are divided into 9 grades. They satisfy their sexual needs by bodily coition. Their leśyā is black, dark, grey or fiery. They bind no tīrthakara-karman.

Source: Encyclopedia of Jainism: Tattvartha Sutra 4: The celestial beings (deva)

Bhavanavāsin (भवनवासिन्) or Bhavanavāsī refers to “residential celestial beings” and represents one of the four classes of Devas, according to the 2nd-century Tattvārthasūtra 4.3. The celestial beings (devas) that live in residences are called residential celestial beings.

The residential celestial (bhavanavāsin) beings have ten subclasses, namely:

  1. Asurakumāra (fiendish youths),
  2. Nāgakumāra (serpentine youths),
  3. Vidyutkumāra (lightning youths),
  4. Suparṇakumāra (vulturine youths),
  5. Agnikumāra (fiery youths),
  6. Vātakumāra (stormy youths),
  7. Stanitakumāra (thundering youths),
  8. Udadhikumāra (oceanic youths),
  9. Dvīpakumāra (island youths),
  10. Dikkumāra (guardians of the ten directions /compass points).

Why is the word kumāra used with the names of the residential celestial beings? Since they appear as youth due to their dresses, ornaments, weapons, conveyance, and the animals they ride on for sports etc, they are called kumāra or youth. Where are the mansions of the fiendish-youths and other residential celestial beings? The mansions of fiendish-youths are in the Paṅkabahula part and the dwelling places of the other nine classes are in the khara part of the first infernal region.

General definition book cover
context information

Jainism is an Indian religion of Dharma whose doctrine revolves around harmlessness (ahimsa) towards every living being. The two major branches (Digambara and Svetambara) of Jainism stimulate self-control (or, shramana, ‘self-reliance’) and spiritual development through a path of peace for the soul to progess to the ultimate goal.

Discover the meaning of bhavanavasin in the context of General definition from relevant books on Exotic India

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: