Five Buddhas: 1 definition


Five Buddhas means something in Buddhism, Pali. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Buddhism

General definition (in Buddhism)

[«previous next»] — Five Buddhas in Buddhism glossary
Source: Wisdom Library: Dharma-samgraha

Five Buddhas or Five Tathagatas:—A technical term in Buddhism corresponding to the Sanskrit pañcabuddha defined in the Dharma-saṃgraha (section 3):

  1. Shining Buddha (Vairocana),
  2. Immovable Buddha (Akṣobhya),
  3. Jewel-Born Buddha (Ratnasambhava),
  4. Endless-Light Buddha (Amitābha),
  5. Unfailing Buddha (Amoghasiddhi).

The Dharma-samgraha (Dharmasangraha) is an extensive glossary of Buddhist technical terms in Sanskrit (e.g., pañcabuddha, ‘five Buddhas’). The work is attributed to Nagarguna who lived around the 2nd century A.D.

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: