Vikatadamshtrin, Vikaṭadaṃṣṭrin: 2 definitions



Vikatadamshtrin means something in Buddhism, Pali. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

The Sanskrit term Vikaṭadaṃṣṭrin can be transliterated into English as Vikatadamstrin or Vikatadamshtrin, using the IAST transliteration scheme (?).

In Buddhism

Tibetan Buddhism (Vajrayana or tantric Buddhism)

[«previous (V) next»] — Vikatadamshtrin in Tibetan Buddhism glossary
Source: A Critical Study of the Vajraḍākamahātantrarāja (II)

Vikaṭadaṃṣṭrin (विकटदंष्ट्रिन्) is the husband of Mahānāsā: the name of a Ḍākinī (‘sacred girl’) presiding over Arbuda: one of the four Pīṭhas (‘sacred spot’) present within the Cittacakra (‘circle of mid’), according to the 9th-centruy Vajraḍākatantra. The Cittacakra is one of three Cakras within the Tricakra system which embodies twenty-four sacred spots or districts resided over by twenty-four Ḍākinīs whose husbands (viz., Vikaṭadaṃṣṭrin) abide in one’s body in the form of twenty-four ingredients (dhātu) of one’s body.

Mahānāsā has for her husband the hero (vīra) named Vikaṭadaṃṣṭrin. She is the presiding deity of Arbuda and the associated internal location is ‘back of the head’ and the bodily ingredient (dhātu) is ‘flesh’.

Source: The Structure and Meanings of the Heruka Maṇḍala

Vikaṭadaṃṣṭrin (विकटदंष्ट्रिन्) is the name of a Vīra (hero) who, together with the Ḍākinī named Mahānāsā forms one of the 36 pairs situated in the Vajracakra, according to the 10th century Ḍākārṇava chapter 15. Accordingly, the vajracakra refers to one of the four divisions of the sahaja-puṭa (‘innate layer’), situated within the padma (lotus) in the middle of the Herukamaṇḍala. The 36 pairs of Ḍākinīs and Vīras [viz., Vikaṭadaṃṣṭrin] each have one face and four arms; they hold a skull bowl, a skull staff, a small drum and a knife; they are dark-bluish-black in color.

Tibetan Buddhism book cover
context information

Tibetan Buddhism includes schools such as Nyingma, Kadampa, Kagyu and Gelug. Their primary canon of literature is divided in two broad categories: The Kangyur, which consists of Buddha’s words, and the Tengyur, which includes commentaries from various sources. Esotericism and tantra techniques (vajrayāna) are collected indepently.

Discover the meaning of vikatadamshtrin or vikatadamstrin in the context of Tibetan Buddhism from relevant books on Exotic India

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: