Dakarnava, Ḍākārṇava, Daka-arnava: 2 definitions


Dakarnava means something in Buddhism, Pali. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Buddhism

Tibetan Buddhism (Vajrayana or tantric Buddhism)

Source: academia.edu: The Structure and Meanings of the Heruka Maṇḍala

Ḍākārṇava (डाकार्णव) or “Ḍāka’s ocean” is an abbreviation for the Śrīḍākārṇavamahāyoginītantrarāja (“the glorious Ḍāka’s ocean great Yoginī tantra king”): a Tantra belonging to the Buddhist Cakrasaṃvara/Śaṃvara tradition. [...] It was composed in the eastern area of the Indian subcontinent sometime between the late 10th and the early 12th centuries. [...] The Ḍākārṇava, and the Vohitā commentary of Padmavajra, were translated into Tibetan by Jayasena and Dharma yon tan (12th century) at Kathmandu in Nepal (Colophon). Kathmandu was probably an important place for the Ḍākārṇava tradition.

Source: MDPI Books: The Ocean of Heroes

Ḍākārṇava (डाकार्णव) (lit “Ocean of Ḍākas”) (or Ḍākārṇavatantra) is one of the last Tantric scriptures among those belonging to the Buddhist Saṃvara tradition. It consists of 51 chapters. It was developed sometime between the late-10th and mid-12th centuries, and the basic text of its extant version was most likely completed around the early 12th century in the eastern part of the Indian subcontinent (Bengal or Nepal). Chapter 15 of the Ḍākārṇava (hereafter Ḍākārṇava 15) teaches the principal maṇḍala of this scripture. It is a large-scale and elaborate maṇdala of Heruka that comprises 986 major deities. The Lord or Blessed One (Bhagavat), who teaches the Ḍākārṇava, is named Ḍākārṇava, Vajraḍāka, Heruka, Śākyasiṃha, Kālacakra, etc. In the Ḍākārṇava 15, the Lord is normally called Heruka. [...] According to its colophon, the full title of the Ḍākārṇava (“Ocean of Ḍākas”) is Śrīḍākārṇava-nāma-mahāyoginītantrarāja (the great king of Yoginītantras named “Glorious Ocean of Ḍākas”).

Tibetan Buddhism book cover
context information

Tibetan Buddhism includes schools such as Nyingma, Kadampa, Kagyu and Gelug. Their primary canon of literature is divided in two broad categories: The Kangyur, which consists of Buddha’s words, and the Tengyur, which includes commentaries from various sources. Esotericism and tantra techniques (vajrayāna) are collected indepently.

Discover the meaning of dakarnava in the context of Tibetan Buddhism from relevant books on Exotic India

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Help me keep this site Ad-Free

For over a decade, this site has never bothered you with ads. I want to keep it that way. But I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased truth, wisdom and knowledge.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: