Herukamandala, Herukamaṇḍala, Heruka-mandala: 1 definition


Herukamandala means something in Buddhism, Pali. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Buddhism

Tibetan Buddhism (Vajrayana or tantric Buddhism)

Source: academia.edu: The Structure and Meanings of the Heruka Maṇḍala

Herukamaṇḍala (हेरुकमण्डल) refers to a large-scale and elaborate maṇḍala of Heruka, consisting of 986 deities, as found in the Ḍākārṇava chapter 15.—The east division of the entire maṇḍala is blackish dark-blue in color; the north division, green; the west division, red; and the south division, yellow. Heruka is the origin of all heroes, and Vārāhī is the origin of all Ḍākinīs.

The Ḍākārṇava-Herukamaṇḍala taught in the Ḍākārṇava 15 consists of four layers (puṭa) consisting of concentric circles (cakra, totally one lotus at the center and 12 concentric circles, that is, 13 circles in total). Through this structure the maṇḍala represents the Buddhist concepts (meanings) such as the Fourfold Body of the Buddha, the Four Modes of Birth, the twelve categories of holy sites, the Twelve Levels of a Bodhisattva, and the Three Realms.

The First layer (sahaja-puṭa, ‘innate’) consists of:

  1. The lotus (padma) at the center [binducakra or tilakacakra according to Jayasena’s Sādhana],
  2. The adamantine circle (vajracakra),
  3.  The heart circle (hṛdayacakra),
  4. The merit circle (guṇacakra).

The Second layer (dharma-puṭa) consists of:

  1. The space circle (ākāśacakra),
  2. The wind circle (vāyucakra),
  3.  The earth circle (medinīcakra).

The Third layer (saṃbhoga-puṭa, ‘enjoyment’) consists of:

  1. The fire circle (agnicakra),
  2. The water circle (jalacakra or udakacakra),
  3. The gnosis circle (jñānacakra).

The Fourth layer (nirmāṇa-puṭa, ‘emanation’) consists of:

  1. The mind circle (cittacakra),
  2. The word circle (vākcakra),
  3. The body circle (kāyacakra).

The heruka-maṇḍala is multi-dimensional and should be contemplated from multiple perspectives: Seen from a different  perspective, the maṇḍala shows a different concept (meaning).  The deities/circles on the Ḍākārṇava-Heruka-maṇḍala are also connected with gestures or  jargons (chomā, chomakā, mudrā, saṃketa) that a female and a male practitioner exchange in meeting.

Tibetan Buddhism book cover
context information

Tibetan Buddhism includes schools such as Nyingma, Kadampa, Kagyu and Gelug. Their primary canon of literature is divided in two broad categories: The Kangyur, which consists of Buddha’s words, and the Tengyur, which includes commentaries from various sources. Esotericism and tantra techniques (vajrayāna) are collected indepently.

Discover the meaning of herukamandala in the context of Tibetan Buddhism from relevant books on Exotic India

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: