Lokantika, Lokāntika, Lokāntikā, Lokamtika: 6 definitions


Lokantika means something in Buddhism, Pali, Jainism, Prakrit, Hinduism, Sanskrit. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Buddhism

Tibetan Buddhism (Vajrayana or tantric Buddhism)

Source: Wisdom Library: Tibetan Buddhism

Lokāntikā (लोकान्तिका) is the name of a Piśācī mentioned as attending the teachings in the 6th century Mañjuśrīmūlakalpa: one of the largest Kriyā Tantras devoted to Mañjuśrī (the Bodhisattva of wisdom) representing an encyclopedia of knowledge primarily concerned with ritualistic elements in Buddhism. The teachings in this text originate from Mañjuśrī and were taught to and by Buddha Śākyamuni in the presence of a large audience (including Lokāntikā).

Tibetan Buddhism book cover
context information

Tibetan Buddhism includes schools such as Nyingma, Kadampa, Kagyu and Gelug. Their primary canon of literature is divided in two broad categories: The Kangyur, which consists of Buddha’s words, and the Tengyur, which includes commentaries from various sources. Esotericism and tantra techniques (vajrayāna) are collected indepently.

Discover the meaning of lokantika in the context of Tibetan Buddhism from relevant books on Exotic India

In Jainism

General definition (in Jainism)

[«previous next»] — Lokantika in Jainism glossary
Source: Google Books: Jainism: An Indian Religion of Salvation

Lokāntika (लोकान्तिक).—The Lokāntika-gods who live around Brahmaloka are outside the hierarchy. According to Digambaras, they are divided into 24 classes: Sārasvata, Āditya, Vahni, Aruṇa, Gardatoya, Tuṣita, Avyābādha and Ariṣṭa, as also 16 others. They are without any desire and are, therefore, called “devarṣis” (god-saints); they serve tīrthaṅkaras when these appear on the earth, and are finally born as human beings and get salvation.

Source: Google Books: That which is

Lokāntika (लोकान्तिक).—The terminal (lokāntika) gods, who are close to liberation and live near the side border, fairly clsoe to the top of the heavenly region. The Svopajña-bhāṣya explains that there are eight varieties of terminal gods who live, respectively, in the eight directions surrounding the Brahmaloka, the fifth heaven. However, the Svopajña-bhāṣya-ṭīkā says that the gods live near the black gaps which are in certain parts of the Brahmaloka.

The directions in which the gods live are as follows:

  1. Sārasvata (eloquent); north-east,
  2. Āditya (bright orb); east,
  3. Vahni (fire); south-east,
  4. Aruṇa (dawm); south,
  5. Gardatoya (splashing stream); south-west,
  6. Tuṣita (gratified); west,
  7. Avyābādha (unimpeded); north-west,
  8. Marut (wind); north,
  9. Ariṣṭa (unhurt); centre

The ninth variety refers to the gods living in the space vehicle calle Ariṣṭa which is in the centre. Although the Sarvārthasiddhi does not name the Maruts as a distinct variety in the sutra, it says that they live between the Avyābādhas and Ariṣṭas. The Sarvārthasiddhi places the Ariṣṭas in the north.

The terminal gods are known as divine saints because they are without sexual drives. They attain lbieration after, at most, another seven or eight births and sometimes only two or three.

Source: Google Books: Jaina Iconography

Lokāntika (लोकान्तिक).—Another class of ancient Jaina collective deities is the Lokāntika gods who like the Indra and the Dik-kumārīs are assigned as special role in the life of a Jina. When the proper time for renunciation is ripe, they approach the would-be Tīrthaṅkara and inform him accordingly, and request him to renounce the worldly life for the benefit of the world.

The Lokāntikas are known to the canons and are said to reside in the kṛṣṇarājis of the fifth kalpa-heaven called the Brahmaloka. They are:

  1. Sārasvata,
  2. Āditya,
  3. Vahni,
  4. Varuṇa,
  5. Gardatoya,
  6. Tuṣita,
  7. Avyābādha,
  8. Āgneyā (Marut),
  9. Riṣṭa.
General definition book cover
context information

Jainism is an Indian religion of Dharma whose doctrine revolves around harmlessness (ahimsa) towards every living being. The two major branches (Digambara and Svetambara) of Jainism stimulate self-control (or, shramana, ‘self-reliance’) and spiritual development through a path of peace for the soul to progess to the ultimate goal.

Discover the meaning of lokantika in the context of General definition from relevant books on Exotic India

Languages of India and abroad

Sanskrit dictionary

[«previous next»] — Lokantika in Sanskrit glossary
Source: DDSA: Paia-sadda-mahannavo; a comprehensive Prakrit Hindi dictionary (S)

Lokāntika (लोकान्तिक) in the Sanskrit language is related to the Prakrit word: Loaṃtiya.

context information

Sanskrit, also spelled संस्कृतम् (saṃskṛtam), is an ancient language of India commonly seen as the grandmother of the Indo-European language family (even English!). Closely allied with Prakrit and Pali, Sanskrit is more exhaustive in both grammar and terms and has the most extensive collection of literature in the world, greatly surpassing its sister-languages Greek and Latin.

Discover the meaning of lokantika in the context of Sanskrit from relevant books on Exotic India

Kannada-English dictionary

[«previous next»] — Lokantika in Kannada glossary
Source: Alar: Kannada-English corpus

Lōkāṃtika (ಲೋಕಾಂತಿಕ):—

1) [noun] (jain.) a class of deities.

2) [noun] any one of such deities.

context information

Kannada is a Dravidian language (as opposed to the Indo-European language family) mainly spoken in the southwestern region of India.

Discover the meaning of lokantika in the context of Kannada from relevant books on Exotic India

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: