Four Castes: 1 definition


Four Castes means something in Buddhism, Pali. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Buddhism

General definition (in Buddhism)

[«previous next»] — Four Castes in Buddhism glossary
Source: Buddhist Door: GlossaryThe class system in ancient India: 1. Brahman - the highest caste, 2. Kshatriyas (royal families) - the warrior, 3. Vaishyas (ordinary citizen), 4. Sudras (slaves).

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: