Four Bases of Sympathy: 1 definition



Four Bases of Sympathy means something in Buddhism, Pali. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Buddhism

General definition (in Buddhism)

[«previous next»] — Four Bases of Sympathy in Buddhism glossary
Source: Wisdom Library: Dharma-samgraha

Four Bases of Sympathy:—A technical term in Buddhism corresponding to the Sanskrit catursaṃgrahavastu defined in the Dharma-saṃgraha (section 19):

  1. Generosity (dāna),
  2. Kindly speech (priyavacana),
  3. Usefulness (arthacaryā),
  4. Similarity of purpose (samānārthatā).

The Dharma-samgraha (Dharmasangraha) is an extensive glossary of Buddhist technical terms in Sanskrit (e.g., catur-saṃgrahavastu, ‘four bases of sympathy’). The work is attributed to Nagarguna who lived around the 2nd century A.D.

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: