Four Concentrations: 1 definition


Four Concentrations means something in Buddhism, Pali. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Buddhism

General definition (in Buddhism)

[«previous next»] — Four Concentrations in Buddhism glossary
Source: Wisdom Library: Dharma-samgraha

Four Concentrations:—A technical term in Buddhism corresponding to the Sanskrit samādhi defined in the Dharma-saṃgraha (section 101):

  1. Concentration on light (āloka-samādhi),
  2. Concentration on enclosed light (vṛtāloka-samādhi),
  3. The eleven establishments of concentration (ekādaśa-pratiṣṭha-samādhi),
  4. The concentration giving immediate result (ānantarya-samādhi).

The Dharma-samgraha (Dharmasangraha) is an extensive glossary of Buddhist technical terms in Sanskrit (e.g., ‘four concentrations’). The work is attributed to Nagarguna who lived around the 2nd century A.D.

Four Concentrations is also defined in the Dharma-saṃgraha (section 136):

  1. Heroic march (śūraṅgama),
  2. Sky-jewel (gagaṇa-gañja),
  3. Pure light (vimala-prabha),
  4. Lion’s sport (siṃha-vikrīḍita).

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: