Caturmaharajika, aka: Cāturmahārājika, Caturmahārājika, Catur-maharajika; 1 Definition(s)


Caturmaharajika means something in Buddhism, Pali. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

Alternative spellings of this word include Chaturmaharajika.

In Buddhism

Mahayana (major branch of Buddhism)

Caturmahārājika (चतुर्महाराजिक).—According to the Mahāprajñāpāramitāśāstra (chapter XIV), the first class (of gods of kāmadhātu), starting from the bottom, is that of the Caturmahārājikas or the Four Great Kings.

(Source): Wisdom Library: Maha Prajnaparamita Sastra
Mahayana book cover
context information

Mahayana (महायान, mahāyāna) is a major branch of Buddhism focusing on the path of a Bodhisattva (spiritual aspirants/ enlightened beings). Extant literature is vast and primarely composed in the Sanskrit language. There are many sūtras of which some of the earliest are the various Prajñāpāramitā sūtras.

Relevant definitions

Search found 86 related definition(s) that might help you understand this better. Below you will find the 15 most relevant articles:

1) Caturbhuja (चतुर्भुज) is the father of Rudraṇa and the great-great-grand-father of Kumāramaṇ...
Caturmukha (चतुर्मुख) or Caturmukhāgama refers to one of upāgamas (supplementary scriptures) of...
Catur (चतुर्).—num. a. [cat-uran Uṇ.5.58] (always in pl.; m. catvāraḥ; f. catasraḥ; n. catvāri)...
1) Catuṣpada (चतुष्पद) refers to “four-footed”, and represents classification of things that ca...
Catuṣkoṇa (चतुष्कोण).—Quadrilateral. Note: Catur-koṇa is a Sanskrit technical term used in anci...
Caturasra (चतुरस्र).—Quadrilateral square. Note: Caturasra is a Sanskrit technical term used in...
Caturyuga (चतुर्युग).—(See Manvantara).
Caturaṅga (चतुरङ्ग).—a. having 4 members, quadripartite. (-ṅm) 1 a complete army consisting of ...
Cāturvidya (चातुर्विद्य).—a. (-dyī) Knowing the four Vedas.-dyam The four Vedas; also चातुर्वैद...
Caturvarṇa (चतुर्वर्ण).—1. the four classes or castes of the Hindus; i. e. ब्राह्मण, क्षत्रिय, ...
Caturvarga (चतुर्वर्ग).—the four ends of human life taken collectively (puruṣārtha); i. e. धर्म...
Caturaṃśa (चतुरंश).—a fourth part. Derivable forms: caturaṃśaḥ (चतुरंशः).Caturaṃśa is a Sanskri...
Caturbāhu (चतुर्बाहु).—an epithet of Viṣṇu. -hu n.) a square. Derivable forms: caturbāhuḥ (चतुर...
Caturvaktra (चतुर्वक्त्र).—an epithet of Brahmā. Derivable forms: caturvaktraḥ (चतुर्वक्त्रः).C...
Catuṣpatha (चतुष्पथ).—(catuḥpathaḥ or catuṣpathaḥ) -tham also) a place where four roads meet, a...

Relevant text

- Was this explanation helpful? Leave a comment:

Make this page a better place for research and define the term yourself in your own words.

You have to be a member in order to post comments. Click here to login or click here to become a member.