Pujakala, Pūjākāla, Puja-kala: 2 definitions


Pujakala means something in Buddhism, Pali, Hinduism, Sanskrit. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

Images (photo gallery)

In Hinduism

Purana and Itihasa (epic history)

[«previous next»] — Pujakala in Purana glossary
Source: archive.org: Shiva Purana - English Translation

Pūjākāla (पूजाकाल) refers to the “time of worship”, according to the Śivapurāṇa 2.3.30 (“The Celebration of Pārvatī’s Return”).—Accordingly, as Brahmā narrated to Nārada: “[...] In the meantime the lord of mountains returned from the Gaṅgā. He saw the mendicant in the human form in his court-yard. [...] O dear, then the mendicant who was clever at diverse sports showed his endless great power to the mountain. The mountain saw him immediately transmuted in to the form of Viṣṇu the four-armed, with crown earrings and yellow garment (pītavastra). Flowers etc. which had been offered to the mace-bearing lord, Viṣṇu, at the time of worship (pūjākāla), he saw on the body and over the head of the mendicant. [...]”.

Purana book cover
context information

The Purana (पुराण, purāṇas) refers to Sanskrit literature preserving ancient India’s vast cultural history, including historical legends, religious ceremonies, various arts and sciences. The eighteen mahapuranas total over 400,000 shlokas (metrical couplets) and date to at least several centuries BCE.

Discover the meaning of pujakala in the context of Purana from relevant books on Exotic India

In Buddhism

Tibetan Buddhism (Vajrayana or tantric Buddhism)

Source: MDPI Books: The Ocean of Heroes

Pūjākāla (पूजाकाल) refers to the “time of offering”, according to the 10th-century Ḍākārṇava-tantra: one of the last Tibetan Tantric scriptures belonging to the Buddhist Saṃvara tradition consisting of 51 chapters.—Accordingly: [while explaining the body circle (kāyacakra)]: “[...] The first Yoginī in that circle is the one [who] emerged in the beginning (Vārāhī)—the twelve [classes of Yoginīs] are to be discerned by her; [they] rotate in [the twelve circles representing] the pīṭha, upapīṭha, [and so on]. The other [Yoginīs] residing at the gates and corners are [expressive of] the thirteenth Level. [Every Yoginī is] to be discerned with a name starting with ‘Vajra’ at the time of offering (pūjākāla) and praise [pūjāstutyādikālataḥ]. [This is] also the case of [the names of] the heroes. [...]”.

Tibetan Buddhism book cover
context information

Tibetan Buddhism includes schools such as Nyingma, Kadampa, Kagyu and Gelug. Their primary canon of literature is divided in two broad categories: The Kangyur, which consists of Buddha’s words, and the Tengyur, which includes commentaries from various sources. Esotericism and tantra techniques (vajrayāna) are collected indepently.

Discover the meaning of pujakala in the context of Tibetan Buddhism from relevant books on Exotic India

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Help me keep this site Ad-Free

For over a decade, this site has never bothered you with ads. I want to keep it that way. But I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased truth, wisdom and knowledge.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: