Philosophy of language in the Five Nikayas

by K.T.S. Sarao | 2013 | 141,449 words

Summary: This is an English study of the Philosophy of language in the Five Nikayas, from the perspective of linguistics. The Five Nikayas, in Theravada Buddhism, refers to the five books of the Sutta Pitaka (“Basket of Sutra”), which itself is the second division of the Pali Tipitaka of the Buddhist Canon (literature).

They are as follows: (1) Digha Nikaya or “Collection of Long Discourses”, (2) Majjhima Nikaya or “Collection of Middle-length Discourses”, (3) Samyutta Nikaya or “Collection of Kindred Sayings”, (4) Anguttara Nikaya or “Collection of Gradual Sayings” and (5) Khuddaka Nikaya or “Smaller Collections”.


Contents of this online book ( + / - )

The full text of the Philosophy of language in the Five Nikayas in English is available here and publically accesible (free to read online). Of course, I would always recommend buying the book so you get the latest edition. You can see all this book’s content by visiting the pages in the below index:


Comment functionality currently not enabled
Help me keep this site Ad-Free

For over a decade, this site has never bothered you with ads. I want to keep it that way. But I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased truth, wisdom and knowledge.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: