Eighteen Gods: 1 definition



Eighteen Gods means something in Buddhism, Pali. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Buddhism

General definition (in Buddhism)

[«previous next»] — Eighteen Gods in Buddhism glossary
Source: Wisdom Library: Dharma-samgraha

Eighteen Gods:—A technical term in Buddhism corresponding to the Sanskrit rūpāvacaradeva defined in the Dharma-saṃgraha (section 128):

  1. The Brahma group (brahmakāyika),
  2. The ministers of Brahmā (brahmapurohita),
  3. Brahmā’s retinue (brahmapārṣadya),
  4. Great Brahmās (mahābrahmāṇa),
  5. Limited radiance (parīttābha),
  6. Unbounded radiance (apramāṇābha),
  7. Streaming radiance (ābhāsvara),
  8. Limited beauty (parīttaśubha),
  9. Refulgent beauty (śubhakṛtsna),
  10. Cloudless (anabhraka),
  11. The fruit of merit (puṇyaprasava),
  12. Great fruit (bṛhatphala),
  13. Unconscious beings (asaṃjñisattvā).
  14. Steadfast (avṛha),
  15. Untroubled (atapa),
  16. Beautiful (sudṛśa),
  17. Clear-sighted (sudarśana),
  18. The highest (akaniṣṭha).

The Dharma-samgraha (Dharmasangraha) is an extensive glossary of Buddhist technical terms in Sanskrit (e.g., ‘eighteen gods’). The work is attributed to Nagarguna who lived around the 2nd century A.D.

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: