The Indian Buddhist Iconography

by Benoytosh Bhattachacharyya | 1958 | 51,392 words | ISBN-10: 8173053138 | ISBN-13: 9788173053139

This page contains an iconography image of 108 forms of Avalokiteshvara (67): Mahavajradhatu Lokeshvara and represents of the book Indian Buddhist Iconography, based on extracts of the Sadhanamala English translation. These plates and illustrations represent either photographs of sculptures or line-drawing reproductions of paintings or other representations of Buddhist artwork.

108 forms of Avalokiteśvara (67): Mahāvajradhātu Lokeśvara

Mahavajradhatu Lokeshvara
Fig. 67A: Mahāvajradhātu Lokeśvara

This is figure 67 in a series of 108 forms of Avalokiteśvara from the Macchandar Vahal, Kathmandu, Nepal.

67. Mahāvajradhātu Lokeśvara. He is identical with No. 66 in all respects but the symbols differ. Here the god carries the Vajra, the bow, the Triśūla and the sword in his four right hands, and the Ghaṇṭā, the arrow, the Kamaṇḍalu and the noose in his four left.

Mahāviśvaśuddha Lokeśvara. He is four-faced and eight-armed and stands on a lotus. He carries in his four right hands the sword, the flag, the Vajra and the goad, while the four left have the Ghaṇṭā, the conch, the Utpala and the lotus.

The Bodhisattva Avalokiteśvara (The Watchful Lord) also called Padmapāṇi (Lotus bearer) is the spiritual son of the Dhyāni Buddha Amitābha. He is one of the most popular Bodhisattvas of the Buddhist Pantheon having as many as 108 different forms [viz., Mahāvajradhātu Lokeśvara].

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: