Maha Prajnaparamita Sastra

by Gelongma Karma Migme Chödrön | 2001 | 941,039 words

This page describes “ii.b eight rebirths in rupadhatu and arupyadhatu” as written by Nagarjuna in his Maha-prajnaparamita-sastra (lit. “the treatise on the great virtue of wisdom”) in the 2nd century. This book, written in five volumes, represents an encyclopedia on Buddhism as well as a commentary on the Pancavimsatisahasrika Prajnaparamita.

II.b Eight rebirths in rūpadhātu and ārūpyadhātu

Furthermore, there is a generous and moral man who, while practicing generosity, mentally experiences happiness. The greater his gift, the greater his happiness. In this state of mind, he rejects the five objects of sensory enjoyment (pañca kāmaguṇa), avoids the five obstacles (pañcanivaraṇa) and penetrates [into the four dhyānas and the four samāpattis], from the first dhyāna up to the absorption of neither perception nor non-perception (naivasaṃjñānāsaṃjñā).

For these four dhyānas and the four non-material absorptions (ārūpyasamāpatti), see what was said above (p. 1027–1034F).

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: