Arupyasamapatti, Ārūpyasamāpatti, Arupya-samapatti: 3 definitions


Arupyasamapatti means something in Buddhism, Pali. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Buddhism

Mahayana (major branch of Buddhism)

[«previous next»] — Arupyasamapatti in Mahayana glossary
Source: Wisdom Library: Maha Prajnaparamita Sastra

Ārūpyasamāpatti (आरूप्यसमापत्ति) referst to the “four formless absorptions”, according to the 2nd century Mahāprajñāpāramitāśāstra chapter 32.

The four formless absorptions (ārūpya-samāpatti) are:

  1. the sphere of infinity of space (ākāśānantya-āyatana),
  2. the sphere of infinity of consciousness (vijñānānantya-āyatana),
  3. the sphere of nothing at all (ākiṃcanya-āyatana),
  4. the sphere of neither-discrimination-nor-non-discrimination (naivasaṃjñānāsaṃjña-āyatana).

These four formless absorptions are each of three kinds: stained (samala), acquired by birth (upapatti) or acquired by effort (prāyogika). Of the four formless (ārūpya) absorptions, one, namely, the naivasaṃjñānā-saṃjñā-āyatana, is always impure (sāsrava). For the other three, one can single out: the ākāśānantya-āyatana is sometimes impure (sāsrava) and sometimes pure (anāsrava). If it is impure, this ākāśāyatana contains four impure aggregates (sāsrava-skandha); if it is pure, it contains four pure aggregates. It is the same for the vijñānānantya-āyatana and the ākiṃcanya-āyatana.

Source: A Study and Translation of the Gaganagañjaparipṛcchā

Ārūpyasamāpatti (आरूप्यसमापत्ति) refers to the “four formless states of meditation”, according to the Gaganagañjaparipṛcchā: the eighth chapter of the Mahāsaṃnipāta (a collection of Mahāyāna Buddhist Sūtras).—Accordingly: “Then the Bodhisattva Gaganagañja addressed himself to the Lord: ‘O Lord, what is the supramundane path of the Bodhisattvas, the great beings?’ At these words, the Lord replied to the Bodhisattva Gaganagañja: ‘Son of good family, what is called the supramundane path is the six perfections, thirty-seven dharmas which are the wings of awakening, peaceful meditation, expanded vision, four means of attraction, four meditaions, four immeasurables, four formless states of meditation (ārūpyasamāpatti), and five supernormal knowledges. Son of good family, this is the supramundane path of the Bodhisattvas’”.

Mahayana book cover
context information

Mahayana (महायान, mahāyāna) is a major branch of Buddhism focusing on the path of a Bodhisattva (spiritual aspirants/ enlightened beings). Extant literature is vast and primarely composed in the Sanskrit language. There are many sūtras of which some of the earliest are the various Prajñāpāramitā sūtras.

Discover the meaning of arupyasamapatti in the context of Mahayana from relevant books on Exotic India

General definition (in Buddhism)

[«previous next»] — Arupyasamapatti in Buddhism glossary
Source: China Buddhism Encyclopedia: Buddhism

ārūpyasamāpatti; one of the infinite mental states

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Help me keep this site Ad-Free

For over a decade, this site has never bothered you with ads. I want to keep it that way. But I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased truth, wisdom and knowledge.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: