Wisdom Library Logo

Three Realms, aka: Triple Realm; 1 Definition(s)


Three Realms means something in Buddhism, Pali. Check out some of the following descriptions and leave a comment if you want to add your own contribution to this article.

In Buddhism

General definition (in Buddhism)

Sanskrit word is Triloka. It is Buddhist metaphysical equivalence for the triple world of earth, atmosphere and heaven. 1. Realm of Sensusous Desire (Sanskrit word is Kamadhatu) of sex and food. It includes the Six Heavens of Desire, the Human World and the Hells. 2. Realm of Form (Sanskrit word is Rupaadhatu) of matter which is substantial and resistant. It is a semi material conception. It is above the lust world and contains bodies, places and things, all mystic and wonderful. It consists of 18 heavens, including the Heavens of Four Zen (Sanskrit word is Brahmalokas). 3. Realm of Formlessness (Sanskrit word is Arupadhatu) of pure spirit, where there are no bodies and matters to which human terms would apply, but where the mind dwells in mystic contemplation; its extent is indefinable, but it is conceived of in Four Stages/Places of Emptiness in the immaterial world. It has four heavens, in which the Sphere/heaven of neither perception nor non perception is the highest.Source: Buddhist Door: Glossary

Relevant definitions

Search found 2403 related definition(s) that might help you understand this better. Below you will find the 15 most relevant articles:

tipiṭaka : (nt.) the 3 divisions of the Buddhist Canon.
1a) Kāma (काम).—God of Love (s.v.); born of Brahmā's heart. Burnt by Śiva, was reborn as ...
Guṇa (गुण) refers to the ten “merits” in a poetical work (kāvya), accoridng to the Nāṭyaśāstra ...
Three Obstructions
Also called Three Obstacles. They are the obstructions that hinder the attainment of Buddhahood...
Dharma Realm
Throughout the oceans of worlds in the ten directions exhausting the Dharma realm (cosmos) a...
Nine Realms
The nine realms of error, or subjection to passions, i.e. all the realms of the living except t...
Avatamsaka Realm
When we walk in the Avatamsaka realm, breathing in the Buddha, breathing out the Buddha, wal...
Three Wisdom
There are three kinds of wisdom: 1. Sravaka and Praetyka Buddha knowledge that all the Dharm...
Three Shastra
They are 1. Madhyamaka Shastra 2. Dvadashamukha Shastra 3. Shatika Shastra All three w...
Three Delusions
In Tien Tai, three doubts in the mind of Bodhisattva, producing three delusions, i.e., 1. th...
Three Roots of Evil
The three (evil) roots, i.e. desire, hate and stupidity. Another group is the three grades of g...
Six Worlds
The wheel [of the Bhavacakra] is divided into six sections which represent the Six realms (or W...
Three Obstacles
See Three Obstructions.
Three Studies
or Three Vehicles of Learning 1. Sila, i.e. taking Precepts 2. Dhyana, i.e. concentration a...
Earthly Realms
Earthly Realms Manusyaloka (Tib: mi) and – This is the world of humans and human like...

Relevant text

Search found 1355 books containing Three Realms or Triple Realm. You can also click to the full overview containing English textual excerpts. Below are direct links for the 20 most relevant articles:

- Was this explanation helpufll? Leave a comment:

Make this page a better place for research and define the term yourself in your own words.

You have to be a member in order to post comments. Click here to login or click here to become a member.