Siddhantagama, Siddhāntāgama, Siddhanta-agama: 1 definition


Siddhantagama means something in Hinduism, Sanskrit. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Hinduism

Shaivism (Shaiva philosophy)

[«previous next»] — Siddhantagama in Shaivism glossary
Source: Shodhganga: Iconographical representations of Śiva

Siddhāntāgama (सिद्धान्तागम) refers to one of the three classifications of the Śaiva division of Śaivāgamas: one of the three classes of āgamas (traditionally communicated wisdom).—The śaivāgamas represent the wisdom that has come down from lord Śiva, received by Pārvatī and accepted by Viṣṇu. The śaivāgamas are divided into four groups viz. Śaiva, Pāśupata, Soma and Lākula. Śaiva is further divided in to Dakṣiṇa, Vāma and Siddhānta. Siddhānta again divided in to two groups viz. Śivabheda and Rudrabheda.

The Siddhāntaśaivāgamas maintain the view that the absolute (Paraśiva) started creation to protect the souls and at the time of creation itself he revealed the holy texts, Which are proved by verses found in Rauravāgama and also in Mṛgendrāgama.

These āgamas are twenty eight in numbers. They are:

  1. Kāmika-āgama,
  2. Yogaja-āgama,
  3. Cintya-āgama,
  4. Kāraṇa-āgama,
  5. Ajita-āgama,
  6. Dīpta-āgama,
  7. Sūkṣma-āgama,
  8. Sahasra-āgama,
  9. Aṃśumān-āgama,
  10. Suprabheda-āgama,
  11. Vijaya-āgama,
  12. Niśvāsa-āgama,
  13. Svāyambhuva-āgama,
  14. Anala-āgama,
  15. Vāra-āgama,
  16. Raurava-āgama,
  17. Makuṭa-āgama,
  18. Vimala-āgama,
  19. Candrajñāna-āgama,
  20. Bimba-āgama,
  21. Prodgāta-āgama,
  22. Lalita-āgama,
  23. Siddha-āgama,
  24. Santāna-āgama,
  25. Śarvokta-āgama,
  26. Pārameśvara-āgama,
  27. Kiraṇa-āgama,
  28. Vātula-āgama,
Shaivism book cover
context information

Shaiva (शैव, śaiva) or Shaivism (śaivism) represents a tradition of Hinduism worshiping Shiva as the supreme being. Closely related to Shaktism, Shaiva literature includes a range of scriptures, including Tantras, while the root of this tradition may be traced back to the ancient Vedas.

Discover the meaning of siddhantagama in the context of Shaivism from relevant books on Exotic India

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Help me keep this site Ad-Free

For over a decade, this site has never bothered you with ads. I want to keep it that way. But I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased truth, wisdom and knowledge.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: