Four Aeons: 1 definition


Four Aeons means something in Buddhism, Pali. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Buddhism

General definition (in Buddhism)

[«previous next»] — Four Aeons in Buddhism glossary
Source: Wisdom Library: Dharma-samgraha

Four Aeons:—A technical term in Buddhism corresponding to the Sanskrit kalpa defined in the Dharma-saṃgraha (section 87):

  1. An intervalic aeon (antara-kalpa),
  2. A great aeon (mahā-kalpa),
  3. An empty aeon (śūnya-kalpa),
  4. An essential aeon (sāra-kalpa).

The Dharma-samgraha (Dharmasangraha) is an extensive glossary of Buddhist technical terms in Sanskrit (e.g., ‘four aeons’). The work is attributed to Nagarguna who lived around the 2nd century A.D.

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Help me keep this site Ad-Free

For over a decade, this site has never bothered you with ads. I want to keep it that way. But I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased truth, wisdom and knowledge.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: