Dhatvagni, aka: Dhātvagni, Dhatu-agni; 3 Definition(s)


Dhatvagni means something in Hinduism, Sanskrit. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Hinduism

Ayurveda (science of life)

Dhatvagni in Ayurveda glossary... « previous · [D] · next »

Dhatu-agni (seven tissue agnis) synthesise tissue-layers, dhatus and are active all over the body. Each dhatu has a spearate and specific agni with its own peculiar function.

  1. Rasa-agni:—converts the juices of foods, ahar-rasa into plasma tissue, rasa-dhatu.
  2. Rakta-agni:—converts the atomic portion of plasma, rasa-dhatu into blood tissue, rakta-dhatu.
  3. Mamsa-agni converts the atomic portion of blood, rakta-dhatu, into muscle tissue, mamsa-dhatu.
  4. Meda-agni:—converts the atomic portion of muscle tissue, mamsa-dhatu into adipose tissue, meda-dhatu.
  5. Asthi-agni:—converts the atomic portion of adipose tissue, meda-dhatu, into bone tissue, asthi-dhatu.
  6. Majja-agni:—converts the atomic portion of bone tissue, asthi-dhatu, into nervous tissue, majja-dhatu.
  7. Shukra-agni:—converts the atomic portion of nervous tissue, majja-dhatu, into reproductive tissue, shukra-dhatu.
Source: Google Books: Ayurveda for health & Well-Being

The seven Dhātvāgnis act upon the respecive dhātus by which each dhātu is broken in three parts—the gross part becomes as mala, the fine part stays as itself and the finer one goes on in formation of the successive dhātu.

Source: Google Books: Essentials of Ayurveda

Dhātvagni (धात्वग्नि):—Metabolism at the Tissue-Level: Each tissue derives its nutrition through the activity of so called ‘Dhātvagni’. Metabolism at tissue level is dependent on these ‘Dhātvagnis’. Some part of the tissue becomes supportive whereas some part becomes waste after the metabolism at this level (Carakasaṃhitā Cikitsāsthāna 15/15).

Source: Cogprints: Concepts of Human Physiology in Ayurveda
Ayurveda book cover
context information

Āyurveda (आयुर्वेद, ayurveda) is a branch of Indian science dealing with medicine, herbalism, taxology, anatomy, surgery, alchemy and related topics. Traditional practice of Āyurveda in ancient India dates back to at least the first millenium BC. Literature is commonly written in Sanskrit using various poetic metres.

Discover the meaning of dhatvagni in the context of Ayurveda from relevant books on Exotic India

Relevant definitions

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: