Maha Prajnaparamita Sastra

by Gelongma Karma Migme Chödrön | 2001 | 940,961 words

This page describes “types of concentration” as written by Nagarjuna in his Maha-prajnaparamita-sastra (lit. “the treatise on the great virtue of wisdom”) in the 2nd century. This book, written in five volumes, represents an encyclopedia on Buddhism as well as a commentary on the Pancavimsatisahasrika Prajnaparamita.

In brief, the characteristic traits (nimitta) of the dhyānas and the samāpattis are twenty-three in number: eight concentrations of enjoyment (āsvādana), eight pure (śuddhaka) concentrations and seven anāsrava concentrations.