Abhidhamma in Daily Life (by Ashin Janakabhivamsa)

by Ashin Janakabhivamsa | 66,666 words

English translation of "Abhidhamma in Daily Life" by Professor Ko Lay. Revised by Sayadaw U Silananda, International Theravada Buddhist Missionary University, Yangon, 1999...

Chapter 6 - Ten domains of meritorious actions (ten punna kiriyavatthu)

- Sub-Contents: (+ / -)

At This Stage of your learning, you should understand the Ten Evil Conducts (duccarita) also known as unwholesome course of actions (akusala kammapatha) and Ten Moral Conducts (sucaritha), mentioned in Ratana Gonyi of mine or in various others treatises!

===Ten Domains Of Meritorious Actions (Ten Punna Kiriyavatthu)===

Punna means that which purifies the mind, which in fact means good deeds. Kiriya means that which ought to be done. Vatthu means that which produces prosperity and welfare. These ten moral deeds give you the highest blessing called Mangala (the Auspicious).

The Ten Punna Kiriya Vatthu are:

  1. Dana (charity)
  2. Síla (morality)
  3. Bhávaná (meditation)
  4. Apacayana (giving due respect to others)
  5. Veyyavaca (rendering service and assistance)
  6. Patti-Dana (sharing merits)
  7. Pattanumodhana (rejoicing at and appreciation of merits of others)
  8. Dhammassavana (listening to the Dhamma)
  9. Dhammadesana (teaching the Dhamma to others)
  10. Ditthijukamma (right belief)
Let's grow together!

I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased sources, definitions and images. Your donation direclty influences the quality and quantity of knowledge, wisdom and spiritual insight the world is exposed to.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: