Tattvartha Sutra (with commentary)

by Vijay K. Jain | 2018 | 130,587 words | ISBN-10: 8193272625 | ISBN-13: 9788193272626

This page describes the first two types of pure meditation (shukladhyana) which is verse 9.37 of the English translation of the Tattvartha Sutra which represents the essentials of Jainism and Jain dharma and deals with the basics on Karma, Cosmology, Ethics, Celestial beings and Liberation. The Tattvarthasutra is authorative among both Digambara and Shvetambara. This is verse 37 of the chapter Stoppage and Shedding of Karmas and includes an extensive commentary.

Verse 9.37 - The first two types of pure meditation (śukladhyāna)

Sanskrit text, Unicode transliteration and English translation of Tattvartha sūtra 9.37:

शुक्ले चाद्ये पूर्वविदः ॥ ९.३७ ॥

śukle cādye pūrvavidaḥ || 9.37 ||

The first two types of pure meditation–śukladhyāna–are attained by the saints who know the Scripture–pūrvavid or śrutakevalī. (37)

Hindi Anvayarth:

अन्वयार्थ: [शुक्ले चाद्ये] पहले दो प्रकार के शुक्लध्यान अर्थात् पृथक्त्ववितर्क और एकत्ववितर्क-ये दो ध्यान भी [पूर्वविदः] पूर्वज्ञानधारी श्रुतकेवली के होते हैं।

Anvayartha: [shukle cadye] pahale do prakara ke shukladhyana arthat prithaktvavitarka aura ekatvavitarka-ye do dhyana bhi [purvavidah] purvajnanadhari shrutakevali ke hote haim |

Explanation in English from Ācārya Pūjyapāda’s Sarvārthasiddhi:

The three kinds of meditation–ārta, raudra, and dharmya–have been defined. The fourth, pure meditation–śukladhyāna–must be defined now. It is of four kinds as described subsequently. The next sūtra indicates the lord of the first two kinds.

Among the four kinds of pure meditation–śukladhyāna, the first two occur to the saints who know the Scripture–pūrvavid or śrutakevalī. The word ‘ca’ in the sūtra indicates that the virtuous meditation–dharmyadhyāna–also is included. Virtuous meditation–dharmya-dhyāna–occurs before the ascetic ascends the step (śreṇī) in the two advanced stages of spiritual development. At the end of each step (śreṇī) the first two kinds of pure meditation–śukladhyāna–arise.

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: