Trishashti Shalaka Purusha Caritra

by Helen M. Johnson | 1931 | 742,503 words

This page describes Fifth incarnation as a god which is the eleventh part of chapter I of the English translation of the Shantinatha-caritra, contained within the “Trishashti Shalaka Purusha Caritra”: a massive Jain narrative relgious text composed by Hemacandra in the 12th century. Shantinatha in jainism is the sixteenth Tirthankara (Jina) and one of the 63 illustrious beings or worthy persons.

Part 11: Fifth incarnation as a god

Śrīvijaya and Amitatejas, one having made a nidāna and one not, died and became gods in the heaven Prāṇata. Named Maṇicūla and Divyacūla, they remained happily in the palaces Susthitāvarta and Nanditāvartaka. As gods immersed in an ocean of pleasure, they passed lives of twenty sāgaropamas, absorbed in happiness, accomplishing the attainment of desires by (mere) thought.

Help me keep this site Ad-Free

For over a decade, this site has never bothered you with ads. I want to keep it that way. But I humbly request your help to keep doing what I do best: provide the world with unbiased truth, wisdom and knowledge.

Let's make the world a better place together!

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: