Eighteen Elements: 1 definition


Eighteen Elements means something in Buddhism, Pali. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Buddhism

General definition (in Buddhism)

[«previous (E) next»] — Eighteen Elements in Buddhism glossary
Source: Wisdom Library: Dharma-samgraha

Eighteen Elements:—A technical term in Buddhism corresponding to the Sanskrit dhātu defined in the Dharma-saṃgraha (section 25):

  1. Eye (cakṣus),
  2. Ear (śrotra),
  3. Nose (ghrāṇa),
  4. Tongue (jihvā),
  5. Body (kāya),
  6. Mind (manas),
  7. Form (rūpa),
  8. Smell (gandha),
  9. Sound (śabda),
  10. Taste (rasa),
  11. Tangible (sparśa),
  12. Though (dharma),
  13. Eye-consciousness (cakṣurvijñāna),
  14. Ear-consciousness (śrotravijñāna),
  15. Nose-consciousness (ghrāṇavijñāna),
  16. Tongue-consciousness (jihvāvijñāna),
  17. Body-consciousness (kāyavijñāna),
  18. Mind-consciousness (manasvijñāna).

The Dharma-samgraha (Dharmasangraha) is an extensive glossary of Buddhist technical terms in Sanskrit (eg., dhātu, ‘eighteen elements’). The work is attributed to Nagarguna who lived around the 2nd century A.D.

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: