Maha Prajnaparamita Sastra

by Gelongma Karma Migme Chödrön | 2001 | 940,961 words

This page describes “the place of the nine notions in the dharmas of the path” as written by Nagarjuna in his Maha-prajnaparamita-sastra (lit. “the treatise on the great virtue of wisdom”) in the 2nd century. This book, written in five volumes, represents an encyclopedia on Buddhism as well as a commentary on the Pancavimsatisahasrika Prajnaparamita.

VI. The place of the nine notions in the dharmas of the path

These nine notions open the gate of the foundation of mindfulness on the body (kāyasmṛtyupasthāna). Mindfulness of the body opens the gate of the other three foundations of mindfulness. The four foundations of mindfulness open the gate of the thirty-seven auxiliaries to enlightenment (bodhipākṣika dharma). The thirty-seven auxiliaries to enlightenment open the gate to the city of nirvāṇa.[1] Entering into nirvāṇa, the suffering of sadness, sorrow, etc. (śokadaurmanasyādiduḥkha) are eliminated and, as the process of interdependency of the five aggregates (pañcaskandhapartītyasamutpāda) has been destroyed, one enjoys the eternal bliss of nirvāṇa (nirvāṇanityasukha).

Footnotes and references:


On the city of nirvāṇa, see above, p. 1150F, 1231F.