Pasada Rupa: 3 definitions



Pasada Rupa means something in Buddhism, Pali. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

In Buddhism

Theravada (major branch of Buddhism)

[«previous (P) next»] — Pasada Rupa in Theravada glossary
Source: Journey to Nibbana: Patthana Dhama

See Rupa

There are 5 pasada rupas.

  1. cakkhuppasada or eye
  2. sotappasada or ear
  3. ghanappasada or nose
  4. jivhappasada or tongue
  5. kayappasada or body

These 5 rupas are called pasada rupas. They are collections of mahabhuta rupa but with extra qualities on their own. They each clearly do their job.

Cakkhuppasada is eye. But eye in conventional sense is not cakkhuppasada. Cakkhu pasada is a rupa which is capable to receive the visual object. No other rupa can perceive visual object including mahabhuta rupa which is not cakkhu pasada. Cakkhu pasada cannot be seen by our eye and sensed by any of 5 physical senses. But it is a reality and it can only be sensed through manodvara. The same applies to other pasada rupas.

These 5 rupas serve as pasada, serve as vatthus or bases, serve as dvaras or doors.

Source: Pali Kanon: Manual of Buddhist Terms and Doctrines

'sensitive corporeality', is a name for the 5 physical sense-organs responding to sense-stimuli. Cf. āyatana.

Source: Dhamma Study: Cetasikas

the rupas which ate capable of receiving visible object, sound, etc.

context information

Theravāda is a major branch of Buddhism having the the Pali canon (tipitaka) as their canonical literature, which includes the vinaya-pitaka (monastic rules), the sutta-pitaka (Buddhist sermons) and the abhidhamma-pitaka (philosophy and psychology).

Discover the meaning of pasada rupa in the context of Theravada from relevant books on Exotic India

See also (Relevant definitions)

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: