Yugavaratra, aka: Yuga-varatra; 1 Definition(s)


Yugavaratra means something in Hinduism, Sanskrit. If you want to know the exact meaning, history, etymology or English translation of this term then check out the descriptions on this page. Add your comment or reference to a book if you want to contribute to this summary article.

Languages of India and abroad

Sanskrit-English dictionary

Yugavaratra in Sanskrit glossary... « previous · [Y] · next »

Yugavaratra (युगवरत्र).—a yoke-strap; युगवरत्रे उपदंशिते ईषाचक्रादिसंनिधाने चेद् अक्षमानयेत्युच्यते तदा यानाक्षमधिकृत्य ब्रूते इति गम्यते, न तु विदेवनाक्षमिति (yugavaratre upadaṃśite īṣācakrādisaṃnidhāne ced akṣamānayetyucyate tadā yānākṣamadhikṛtya brūte iti gamyate, na tu videvanākṣamiti) ŚB. on MS.6.8.35.

Derivable forms: yugavaratram (युगवरत्रम्).

Yugavaratra is a Sanskrit compound consisting of the terms yuga and varatra (वरत्र).

Source: DDSA: The practical Sanskrit-English dictionary
context information

Sanskrit, also spelled संस्कृतम् (saṃskṛtam), is an ancient language of India commonly seen as the grandmother of the Indo-European language family. Closely allied with Prakrit and Pali, Sanskrit is more exhaustive in both grammar and terms and has the most extensive collection of literature in the world, greatly surpassing its sister-languages Greek and Latin.

Discover the meaning of yugavaratra in the context of Sanskrit from relevant books on Exotic India

Relevant definitions

Search found 249 related definition(s) that might help you understand this better. Below you will find the 15 most relevant articles:

Yuga.—(IE 7-1-2), ‘four’; rarely, 2 or 12. Note: yuga is defined in the “Indian epigraphical gl...
Kaliyuga (कलियुग) refers to a time period consisting of 32,000 years according to the Nīla...
Satyayuga (सत्ययुग).—Another name of Kṛtayuga. (See under Kṛtayuga).
Tretāyuga (त्रेतायुग) refers to a time period consisting of three times the amount of one ...
Dvāparayuga (द्वापरयुग) refers to a time period consisting of two times the amount of one ...
Caturyuga (चतुर्युग) refers to a time period consisting of four times the amount of one Ka...
Kṛtayuga (कृतयुग).—There are four Yugas (Eras) called Kṛta, Tretā, Dvāpara and Kali yugas. (For...
Yugānta (युगान्त).—1) the end of the yoke. 2) the end of an age, end or destruction of the worl...
Yuga-ādi.—(CII 4; IA 18), name applied to certain tithis; day of the commencement of a yuga; e....
Triyuga (त्रियुग).—an epithet of Viṣṇu; धर्मं महापुरुष पासि युगानुवृत्तं छन्नः कलौ यदभवस्त्रियु...
Varatrā (वरत्रा) or Varatra (वरत्र).—[vṛ-atran Uṇ.3.14]1) A strap, thong, or girth (of leather)...
Daityayuga (दैत्ययुग).—an age of the demons consisting of 12 divine years.Derivable forms: dait...
Devayuga (देवयुग).—1) the first of the four ages of the world; also called कृतयुग, सनत्कुमारो भ...
Mahāyuga (महायुग).—A cosmological time span equal to 4,320,000 years. Note: Mahā-yuga is a Sans...
Daivayuga (दैवयुग).—'a Yuga of the gods' said to consist of 12 divine years, but see Kull. on ए...

Relevant text

Like what you read? Consider supporting this website: